« Back to articlePrint this article

Jayasuriya, Vaas miss Sri Lanka World Cup bus

January 07, 2011 19:19 IST

Sri Lanka left out World Cup winners Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaminda Vaas from their final 15-man squad for this year's tournament.

Both players were named in the provisional squad of 30 but failed to make Friday's cut, leaving Muttiah Muralitharan as the only remaining member of the triumphant Sri Lanka team from 1996.

Kumar Sangakkara will lead Sri Lanka in the tournament being hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh and running from February 19 to April 2.

Left-arm spinner Rangana Herath managed to beat off-spinner Suraj Randiv in one of the few surprises in the final 15.

Sri Lanka squad:

Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Mahela Jayawardene (vice-captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Silva, Chamara Kapugedera, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath.

© Copyright 2022 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.