» Cricket » Strongest action will be taken against tainted trio: Shukla

Strongest action will be taken against tainted trio: Shukla

Source: PTI
May 19, 2013 19:07 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Barely a few hours after an emergent meeting of the BCCI’s working committee, IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla reiterated that members were unanimous in their decision to take strong action against the players if they are found guilty in the spot-fixing scandal.

"Strongest possible action will be taken, that is what BCCI president has said. And that is the view of the working committee," Shukla told reporters.

Addressing a press conference after an emergent meeting in Chennai, BCCI President N Srinivasan promised to take strongest possible action against the Rajasthan Royals players if they are found guilty in the scandal that has hit the cash-rich T20 league.

Rajeev Shukla"Secondly, it has also been decided after talking to RR representative, that RR will file a complaint against these players because they are being contracted with RR,” Shukla said.

The BCCI has appointed its anti-corruption chief Ravi Sawani as the commissioner of inquiry and has told him to file his report as soon as possible.

The IPL last week found itself engulfed in a sensational spot-fixing scandal after Indian paceman S Sreesanth and two of his Rajasthan Royals teammates were arrested by the police which claimed that they received upto Rs 60 lakh from bookies for bowling one manipulated over.

A special cell of the Delhi police arrested Sreesanth and his teammates -- Ajit Chandila and Ankeet Chavan -- in Mumbai on Thursday for indulging in spot-fixing in at least three IPL matches as per arrangements with bookies, who have underworld connections abroad.

Photograph: Ritam Banerjee/Getty Images

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Indian Premier League - 2021

Indian Premier League - 2021