» Cricket » IPL spot-fixing probe panel to meet with BCCI officials on Saturday

IPL spot-fixing probe panel to meet with BCCI officials on Saturday

Source: PTI
June 21, 2013 09:21 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

BCCI official Ratnakar Shetty will discuss with the two judges appointed to inquire into the complaints against Gurunath Meiyappan and Raj Kundra -- the owners of CSK and Rajasthan Royals -- the "preferred mode of operation" in the IPL-6 spot-fixing and betting scandal.

The two judges who comprise the probe panel will meet in person for the first time in Bangalore on Saturday.

Ratnakar Shetty"The panel will discuss its preferred mode of operation. It will be provided with all the operational and administrative assistance," Shetty, BCCI's general manager for game development, was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo.

It's been almost a month since Justice T Jayaram Chouta and R Balasubramanian were appointed.

In what Chouta, the chairman of the commission, called a "preliminary" meeting, the judges are likely to specify their requirements.

Shetty, and the members of the BCCI's legal team, have already handed over the necessary documents to Chowta to begin the process.

Following the arrests of three Rajasthan Royals cricketers and that of Meiyappan, CSK Team Principal and BCCI President N Srinivasan's son-in-law, the following week, the Board had announced a three-member commission to conduct an inquiry.

However, following Sanjay Jagdale's resignation from the post of BCCI secretary and the subsequent withdrawal from the panel, it was reconstituted on June 10.

After Rajasthan Royals co-owner Raj Kundra had allegedly admitted to his involvement in betting on his team's matches to Delhi Police, the panel was also asked to look into the complaint filed against him.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Indian Premier League - 2021

Indian Premier League - 2021