« Back to articlePrint this article

IPL PIX: KKR thrash SRH to win third IPL title!

Last updated on: May 27, 2024 00:47 IST

IMAGES from the IPL Final between Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Sunday.

IMAGE: Kolkata Knight Riders' players celebrate with the IPL trophy. Photograph: BCCI

In a lop-sided final, Kolkata Knight Riders handed Sunrisers Hyderabad a crushing eight-wicket defeat to pick up their third Indian Premier League title.

After bowling out SRH out for 113 - the lowest-ever total in an IPL final, KKR chased it down with 57-balls to spare to pick up their third IPL title. 

IMAGE: Venkatesh Iyer plays a shot. Photograph: BCCI

Despite losing Sunil Narine early, Kolkata Knight Riders stayed on course for a comfortable win in the IPL final against Sunrisers Hyderabad. With KKR needing just 114 to win, Cummins struck early to remove Narine for just two. 

But KKR opener Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Venkatesh Iyer kept the Kolkata team on course as they scored quickly, bringing up 40 off just 20 for the second wicket.

Iyer and Gurbaz took the SRH bowlers to the cleaners as they posted a mammoth 72/1 in the powerplay.

IMAGE: Pat Cummins dismissed Sunil Narine. Photograph: BCCI

After restricting the Sunrisers Hyderabad to 113, the lowest ever total in the IPL final, Kolkata Knight Riders looked set to chase it down quickly, with both openers getting off the mark with boundaries.

But SRH skipper Pat Cummins had other plans as he struck in his very first over to remove the dangerous Sunil Narine for just 6 off 2 to reduce KKR to 11/1 in 1.2 overs.

IMAGE: KKR bowlers put up a sizzling display to bowl out SRH for 113. Photograph: BCCI

Mitchell Starc justified his eye-popping auction billing with a magical delivery as Kolkata Knight Riders produced a complete bowling performance to dismantle Sunrisers Hyderabad for a paltry 113 in what is turning out to be a lopsided IPL-17 final in Chennai on Sunday.

This is the lowest total by a team batting first in an IPL final as SRH were shot out in 18.3 overs.


It won't be wrong to say that KKR has one hand on their third IPL title and deservingly so after playing brilliant cricket from start to finish and the one-sided title clash is a testimony to their total domination of Season 17.

IMAGE: Abhishek Sharma bowled by Mitchell Starc. Photograph: BCCI

Starc (2/14), who peaked at the right time after a disappointing league phase, made full use of overcast conditions as league's break-out youngster Abhishek Sharma (2) got one that swung late, drawing him forward.

The delivery eluded the outside edge of Abhishek's bat and clipped the off-bail.

IMAGE: Vaibhav Arora picked up the wicket of Travis Head. Photograph: BCCI

The delivery could have got any batter out and it was just that the unfortunate Abhishek's name was written on it on the day.

It was the kind of ball that would always send shivers down the spine of those sitting in the dug-out and even Travis Head (0), who had a forgettable business end in this IPL, wasn't left behind.

IMAGE: Ramandeep Singh picks up the catch to dismiss Rahul Tripathi. Photograph: BCCI

Vaibhav Arora, who bowls at barely 130 clicks, also made full use of conditions and got one on fuller length delivery to shape away from Head, who could only nick it to stumper Rahmanullah Gurbaz.

Head now has three ducks in his last four games.

IMAGE: Harshit Rana celebrates the wicket of Nitish Kumar Reddy. Photograph: BCCI

Rahul Tripathi (9) was busy and fidgety and the extra pace and bounce did him in when Starc fired one which held its angular trajectory and hit Tripathi's willow at a place which was touch above the sweet spot as the shot ballooned up.

Ramandeep Singh completed the catch and by the time Powerplay ended, SRH were 40 for 3. Starc's first spell (3-0-14-2) was complete value for his Rs 24.75 crore price tag.

IMAGE: Andre Russell celebrates after dismissing Aiden Markram. Photograph: BCCI

Once the Powerplay was ended, Heinrich Klaasen (16 off 17 balls) was left to do the heavy lifting with Harshit Rana (2/24 in 4 overs) and Andre Russell (3/19 in 2.3 overs) tightening the noose in the middle overs with wickets of Nitish Reddy (13) and Aiden Markram (20) respectively to effectively end SRH's challenge.

IMAGE: Harshit Rana reacts after removing Heinrich Klaasen. Photograph: BCCI

At 62 for 5, there weren't any hopes of a fightback in SRH camp as ruthlessness KKR pace battery aided by extra bounce and movement in the air and a shade off the pitch made a lot of difference.

When KKR comes out to bat, it should be a mere formality.