« Back to articlePrint this article

India meet Windies in ICC women's World Cup opener

December 03, 2012 17:45 IST

Hosts India open their campaign in the ICC women's World Cup against the West Indies at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai on January 31, next year.

The tournament, which features the world's top eight women's teams, will be held across five venues in Mumbai from January 31 to February 17.

Holders England begin their trophy defence also at the Wankhede stadium -- against Sri Lanka on February 2.

England, New Zealand, Australia and India all qualified for the event by virtue of finishing in the top four of the ICC women's World Cup 2009.

Joining these four are the top four sides from the ICC women's World Cup Qualifier 2011, which was held in Bangladesh last November.

The West Indies, which won the tournament, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa make up the remaining places in the tournament.

The eight teams have been divided into two groups of four, with the top three progressing into the Super Sixes stage of the tournament.

A total of 25 matches will be played across five venues in Mumbai -- Wankhede stadium, Bandra Kurla Complex (BKC), Cricket Club of India (CCI), Middle Income Group Club Ground (MIG) and DY Patil Stadium -- with CCI scheduled to host the final of the tournament on February 17 in a day/night ODI.

The ICC's official broadcast partner Star Cricket will broadcast 10 of those 25 matches in high definition. The 10 matches that will be broadcast will be a selection of those played at the Wankhede stadium and the Cricket Club of India, including the final on February 17.

Announcing the match schedule, ICC president Alan Isaac said, "The ICC women's World Cup is the pinnacle of women's cricket and to have India hosting the top eight women's sides in the one-day format is a real boost to women's cricket in this part of the world.

"This will be the third time that India has staged the women's World Cup but this could be by far the most significant. I feel that we are on the verge of a massive sea change in the women's game and where better for that to take place than in the great city of Mumbai," Issac said.

The groups:

Group A: England (A1), India (A2), West Indies (A3), Sri Lanka (A4).

Group B: Australia (B1), New Zealand (B2), Pakistan (B3), South Africa (B4).

The schedule:

Jan 31: India v West Indies (D/N), Wankhede stadium; Australia v Pakistan, BKC.

Feb 1: New Zealand v South Africa (D/N), Wankhede stadium

Feb 2: England v Sri Lanka, Wankhede stadium

Feb 3: New Zealand v Pakistan, BKC; Australia v South Africa, CCI

Feb 4: India v England, Wankhede stadium; Sri Lanka v West Indies, MIG

Feb 5: Pakistan v South Africa, BKC; Australia v New Zealand (D/N), DY Patil

Feb 6: India v Sri Lanka, Wankhede stadium; England v West Indies (D/N), CCI

Super Six Stage

Feb 9: A2 v B2 (D/N), Wankhede Stadium; A3 v B3, BKC; A1 v B1 (D/N), CCI; A4 v B4 (7th v 8th Play Off), MIG

Feb 10: Reserve Day

Feb 11: A3 v B2, BKC; A2 v B1 (D/N), CCI; A1 v B3, DY Patil

Feb 12: Reserve Day

Feb 13: A3 v B1, Wankhede Stadium; A1 v B2, BKC; A2 v B3, CCI

Feb 14: Reserve Day

Feb 15: 5th v 6th Play Off, BKC; 3rd v 4th Play Off, CCI

Feb 16: Reserve Day

Feb 17: Final (D/N), CCI.