» Cricket » Find out who is the highest-paid cricketer in IPL...

Find out who is the highest-paid cricketer in IPL...

Source: PTI
Last updated on: January 01, 2016 20:22 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Kohli among gainers as BCCI lists actual salary of IPL players

Virat Kohli

IMAGE Image: Virat Kohli. Photographs: BCCI

India Test skipper Virat Kohli was among the few cricketers who received a higher actual salary according to the salary details of the retained Indian Premier League players listed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India on Friday.

Kohli's actual salary in Royal Challengers Bangalore was listed as Rs 15 crore while the purse deduction amount was Rs 12.50 crore in the list put up by BCCI in its website, just days ahead of the Lodha Committee's reform report on January 4.

India's limited over skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who was bought by Pune recently, however, had the same actual salary and purse deduction of Rs 12.50 crore while playing for Chennai Super Kings.

Among other Indians, Harbhajan Singh (Rs 5.50 crore vs 8 crore) and Ambati Rayudu (Rs 4 vs Rs 6 crore) were the top gainers according to the list put up by BCCI as a part of its recent attempts to ensure transparency.

West Indies batsman Chris Gayle (Rs 7.50 crore vs Rs 8.40) and South African allrounder Faf du Plessis (Rs 40,000,000 vs Rs 47,500,000) were the gainers among international cricketers.

However, like Dhoni, South Africa's ODI skipper AB de Villers (95,000,000), Shikhar Dhawan (125,000,000), R Ashwin (75,000,000), West Indies' Dwayne Bravo (40,000,000) too didn't see any change in their actual salaries.

There were also many cricketers whose actual salary slumped. Kings XI Punjab duo of David Miller (125,000,000 vs 50,000,000) and Manan Vora (40,000,000 vs 3,500,000) and Kolkata Knight Riders' Gautam Gambhir (125,000,000 vs 100,000,000) and Sunil Narine (Rs 95,000,000 vs 80,000,000) saw their actual salary go down.

Mumbai Indians cricketers, West Indies' Keiron Pollard (Rs 95,000,000 vs Rs 97,000,000) and Sri Lanka's Lasith Malinga (Rs 75,000,000 vs Rs 81,000,000) also has a higher actual salary according to the BCCI list.

Four players who were recently bought by Team Rajkot, namely Suresh Raina (Rs 125,000,000 vs Rs 95,000,000), Ravindra Jadeja (Rs 95,000,000 vs Rs 55,000,000), New Zealand's Brendon McCullum (Rs 75,000,000 vs Rs 32,500,000) and Australia's James Faulkner (Rs 55,000,000 vs Rs 51,000,000) were among those who had a lower actual salary.

Team Pune's Ajinkya Rahane (Rs 95,000,000 vs Rs 80,000,000) and Steven Smith (Rs 55,000,000 vs Rs 40,000,000) too were among the cricketers who would be paid less actual salary by their franchise according to the BCCI list.

This is the first time since the introduction of the retention system in 2010 that BCCI have disclosed the actual remuneration paid to the retained players. The retention system allows teams to sign a certain number of players from their squad ahead of the auction.

Sr. No Team Player Country Purse Deduction (INR) Actual Salary (INR)
1 KXIP David Miller South Africa 125,000,000.00 50,000,000.00
2 KXIP Manan Vora India 40,000,000.00 3,500,000.00
3 KKR Gautam Gambhir India 125,000,000.00 100,000,000.00
4 KKR Sunil Narine West Indies 95,000,000.00 80,000,000.00
5 MI Rohit Sharma India 125,000,000.00 115,000,002.00
6 MI Keiron Pollard West Indies 95,000,000.00 97,000,000.00
7 MI Lasith Malinga Sri Lanka 75,000,000.00 81,000,000.00
8 MI Harbhajan Singh India 55,000,000.00 80,000,000.00
9 MI Ambati Rayudu India 40,000,000.00 60,000,000.00
10 RCB Virat Kohli India 125,000,000.00 150,000,000.00
11 RCB A B deVillers South Africa 95,000,000.00 95,000,000.00
12 RCB Chris Gayle West Indies 75,000,000.00 84,000,000.00
13 SRH Shikhar Dhawan India 125,000,000.00 125,000,000.00
14 Team Pune M S Dhoni India 125,000,000.00 125,000,000.00
15 Team Pune Ajinkya Rahane India 95,000,000.00 80,000,000.00
16 Team Pune R Ashwin India 75,000,000.00 75,000,000.00
17 Team Pune Steven  Smith Australia 55,000,000.00 40,000,000.00
18 Team Pune Faf du Plessis South Africa 40,000,000.00 47,500,000.00
19 Team Rajkot Suresh Raina India 125,000,000.00 95,000,000.00
20 Team Rajkot Ravindra Jadeja India 95,000,000.00 55,000,000.00
21 Team Rajkot Brendon McCullum New Zealand 75,000,000.00 32,500,000.00
22 Team Rajkot James Faulkner Australia 55,000,000.00 51,000,000.00
22 Team Rajkot Dwayne Bravo West Indies 40,000,000.00 40,000,000.00

Table: Courtesy BCCI

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.