» Cricket » Cricket Buzz: Mithali set to write on her personal life

Cricket Buzz: Mithali set to write on her personal life

Last updated on: October 05, 2017 17:43 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Mithali Raj

IMAGE: Mithali Raj will come out with her autobiography. Photograph: Twitter.

Indian women's cricket team captain Mithali Raj will come out with her autobiography next year which will provide a candid and revealing look into her personal and sporting life.


Penguin Random House India today announced that it has acquired the rights to publish the memoir.

Raj says she's excited to share her story and hopes that people come to like it through this book.

Raj is credited with propelling Indian women's cricket to the centre stage. The Arjuna award winner, at 19, emerged as one of India's most capable batswomen with a staggering 214 against England in the second and final Test at Taunton in 2002.

She is the highest run getter in the world with 6190 ODI runs and a batting average of 51.58. She is one of five women with an average above 50, and the first player to score seven consecutive 50s in ODIs.

Radhika Marwah, Associate Commissioning Editor at Penguin Random House India, says, "Mithali Raj is a remarkable role model and is testament to the virtues of perseverance and hard work. She is hugely admired the world over for her talent, grit, and leadership on the field, and most strikingly remains a very grounded and introspective person."

Kiwi Anderson is ambassador for 2018 Under-19 World Cup

New Zealand's Corey Anderson played two editions of the Under-19 World Cup before making his debut in the Kiwi senior team

IMAGE: New Zealand's Corey Anderson played two editions of the Under-19 World Cup before making his debut in the Kiwi senior team in 2012. Photograph: Hannah Peters/Getty Images

The International Cricket Council on Thursday announced New Zealand all-rounder Corey Anderson as the event ambassador for the ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup 2018.

The 12th edition of the 16-team tournament and the third in New Zealand, which will run from January 13 to February 3 across four cities and seven venues, is a platform to inspire the next generation of cricketers and fans.

"It is extremely exciting to be involved again in the Under-19 World Cup. I played two of them -- it is the first stepping stone to playing international cricket," said Anderson, who played in the Under-19 World Cups of 2008 (in Malaysia) and 2010 (in New Zealand).

"You go from playing domestic cricket to playing international cricket – it's a big step but it's a step that is necessary.

"To have it in our backyard is great. We are going to see players who people may not know now but who in the years to come will become household names. In 2010, it was my first snippet of playing international cricket at home."

Anderson, who scored 324 runs in 10 matches with four half-centuries across the two editions of the tournament, has been representing New Zealand regularly in all three formats of the game.

The 26-year-old all-rounder made his international debut in 2012 and to date has scored 683 runs and bagged 16 wickets in 13 Tests, accumulated 1109 runs and grabbed 60 wickets in 49 ODIs, and has 432 runs and 14 wickets in 29 T20Is.

Present Test captains Virat Kohli of India, Steve Smith of Australia, Joe Root of England, Kane Williamson of New Zealand, Sarfraz Ahmed of Pakistan and Dinesh Chandimal of Sri Lanka have all figured in past ICC U-19 World Cups.

The 10 Test playing sides (prior to Afghanistan and Ireland's recent inclusion) along with Namibia (best finishing non-Test playing side from the 2016 event in Bangladesh) have gained automatic qualification to the 2018 tournament. The 11 sides have been joined by five regional qualifiers – Kenya (Africa), Canada (Americas), Papua New Guinea (East Asia Pacific), Afghanistan (Asia) and Ireland (Europe).

Defending champions, the Windies, New Zealand, South Africa and Kenya make up Group A, three-time champions Australia and India, PNG and Zimbabwe are in Group B, Bangladesh, Canada, England and Namibia comprise Group C while two-time champions Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Ireland are in Group D.

The top two sides from each group will advance to the Super League while the remaining eight teams will figure in the Plate Championship. The final will be played at Bay Oval in Tauranga on February 3 while both sem-ifinals will be played at Hagley Oval in Christchurch on January 29 and 30.

Australia and India have both won the tournament three times each, Pakistan have won it two times, while the Windies, South Africa and England have won it once each.

Malinga left out of Sri Lanka squad for Pakistan ODIs

Sri Lanka's Lasith Malinga

IMAGE: Sri Lanka's Lasith Malinga. Photograph: Charlie Crowhurst/Getty Images

Sri Lanka has dropped Lasith Malinga from the one-day international squad to face Pakistan in a five-match series starting next week, raising doubts if the fast bowler will feature in the team's plans for the 2019 World Cup.

Malinga, feared for his awkward action and toe-crushing yorkers, returned to international cricket during June's Champions Trophy following a knee injury that kept him out of the World Twenty20 last year.

But the 34-year-old has not been as effective since his return and has managed 10 wickets from 13 ODIs since his return. He has taken 301 wickets from 204 matches in his career.

Sri Lanka, who lost 5-0 to India at home recently, will also be without former captain and all-rounder Angelo Mathews, who is struggling with a calf injury.

Sri Lanka Cricket, on Wednesday, handed a six-match suspension to batsman Danushka Gunathilake for serious disciplinary breach during the recently concluded series against Sri Lanka.

In addition to the suspension, 20 percent of his annual retainership fee will be deducted following adverse report from team manager Asanka Gurusinha.

The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) said that the quantum of punishment was decided after submission of manager's report.

Gunathilake found himself omitted from the ODI squad that will take on Pakistan, next week in Abu Dhabi. 

The first ODI will be played on October 13 in Dubai with the teams also slated to play a three-match Twenty20 series.

Squad: Upul Tharanga (captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Milinda Siriwardana, Chamara Kapugedara, Thisara Perera, Seekuge Prasanna, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Tokyo Olympics

. Tokyo Olympics
. India's tour of England