» Cricket » Bushrangers hope to ground high-flying Cobras

Bushrangers hope to ground high-flying Cobras

Source: PTI
Last updated on: October 16, 2009 22:16 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Virtually through to the semi-finals after a comprehensive win over Royal Challengers, Victoria Bushrangers would strive to consolidate their position when they take on Cape Cobras in their Champions League match in Bangalore on Saturday.

The Bushrangers put up an all-round performance to overcome the Bangalore team by seven wickets on Saturday and would confirm their berth in the final-four stage if they defeat the Cobras in their league B encounter.

On other hand, Cobras, who have entered the second round as the Group C toppers after beating both the Royal Challengers and Otago Volts, would like to maintain their victorious journey in the 12-team event.

Skipper Andrew Puttick, who has cracked a century and figures second in the list of highest run getters in the tournament so far, would be the mainstay of Cobras' batting order.

But the captain would also rely heavily on the likes of middle-order batsman J P Duminy and experienced Herchelle Gibbs for some timely contributions in Saturday's match.

Duminy had scored an aggressive 52-ball 99 in his side's five-wicket victory over Royal Challengers in the tournament opener, while skipper Puttick had left Otago stunned with his breezy 62-ball 104 on Saturday.

Meanwhile, experienced Brad Hodge and David Hussey would lead the Bushrangers' batting department.

The Bushrangers looked a promising outfit when they went off to a winning start in the tournament, beating Delhi Daredevils, but soon lost their rhythm and suffered a 15-run defeat at the hands of inexperienced Wayamba Elevens of Sri Lanka.

However, the Bushrangers are now back in their elements and the Cobras should brace up to negotiate a stiff challenge from the side, which was considered by many as one of the title contenders.

Teams (from):

Cape Cobras: Andrew Puttick (C), Derek Brand, Ryan Canning, Henry Davids, Jean-Paul Duminy, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Herschelle Gibbs, Claude Henderson, Rory Kleinveldt, Richard

Levi, Justin Ontong, Vernon Philander, Francois Plaatjies, Stiaan van Zyl, Monde Zondeki, Charl Langeveldt.

Victoria Bushrangers: Cameron White (C), Aiden Blizzard, Aaron Finch, Shane Harwood, John Hastings, Brad Hodge, Jon Holland, David Hussey, Andrew McDonald, Bryce McGain, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Rob Quiney, Peter Siddle, Matthew Wade.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Tokyo Olympics

. Tokyo Olympics
. India's tour of England