» Cricket » Barath included in Windies squad for India tour

Barath included in Windies squad for India tour

Source: PTI
November 01, 2011 12:34 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Opener Adrian Barath returned after recovering from a hamstring injury as West Indies announced a 15-member squad for the three-Test series against India starting November 6 in Delhi.

The inclusion of Barath is the only change that the West Indian selectors have made to the squad which is currently playing a Test series against Bangladesh.

Adrian BarathBarath, who suffered the injury in the first One-dayer of the ongoing Bangladesh tour, remained with the squad while Simmons had replaced him for the Tests.

Simmons was in poor form in the West Indies' home Tests against Pakistan and India this year but was recalled to the side after scoring a century and a half-century in the first and second ODIs in Bangladesh.

But he failed in the Chittagong Test and as a result young openers Kraigg Brathwaite and Kieran Powell, who struck half centuries in the first innings of the ongoing Test in Mirpur, got the selectors' nod for the India series.

The Darren Sammy-led squad for the India trip has two spinners in Shane Shillingford and Devendra Bishoo besides three quicks. The side has two wicketkeepers in Carlton Baugh and Denesh Ramdin.

After the opener in Delhi, the other two Tests will be played in Kolkata and Mumbai, after which there will be a five-match ODI series.

"The West Indies team will travel from Bangladesh to India on Thursday, November 3," the West Indies Cricket Board said in a statement.

Squad: Darren Sammy (capt), Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh (wk), Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Fidel Edwards, Kirk Edwards, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Shane Shillingford.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

T20 World Cup 2021