» Cricket » Indians get bowling practice as Tour match ends in draw

Indians get bowling practice as Tour match ends in draw

Source: PTI
December 21, 2011 11:07 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Team India's pace duo of Zaheer Khan and Ishant Sharma got some vital bowling practice on the third and final day of their warm-up match against Cricket Australia Chairman's XI before the match ended in a draw in Canberra on Wednesday.

Needing 146 runs to win from 30 overs, Chairman's XI made 100 for no loss in their second innings with Test discards Phil Hughes (42) and Usman Khawaja (56) serving a point to the selectors.

Umesh Yadav bowls during the practice match in Canberra on WednesdayRegular Test opener David Warner, down with back pain, didn't come out to bat in the second innings.

Earlier, the Indians declared their second innings at 90 for 2 after the hosts, on their part, had declared the first innings at the overnight score of 214 for 7.

The two teams had decided at the start of the day that they would bat for 30 overs each in their second innings in order to wrap up the game early.

Indians will carry mixed feelings from the final day's play as opener Virender Sehwag (8) once again failed to fire but the five-over spell by new-ball bowlers, Zaheer and Ishant would have given the Indian dressing room something to cheer about.  

Both bowlers bowled well within themselves and avoided putting too much load on their front legs at the point of delivery.

Earlier, Sehwag suffered his second failure of the match as India declared at 90 for 2.

He slammed two fours in left-arm paceman Josh Lalor's second over through the vacant cover region before making his way back to the pavillon.

The Indian opener was dismissed in the second over of the match when he was first startled by a lifting delivery from Peter George before guiding the next delivery into the slip cordon.

Sehwag had made 12 runs in the first innings.

Ajinkya Rahane didn't do any better either and after being around for 16 balls, was caught behind the wicket for no score. India, in all, batted for 30 overs in their second innings.

Left-handed opener Gautam Gambhir punished the spinners and compiled 42 runs. Gambhir faced 98 balls for his 42 runs with three fours.

He was well supported by Rohit Sharma , who was fluent in his knock of 38 off 57 balls with four fours.

The two put on 76 unbeaten runs for the third wicket before being called in by skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Scoreboard (at close of play)

Indians (Ist innings) 269

Cricket Australia Chairman's XI (Ist Innings) 214 for 7 declared

Indians (2nd innings):

Gautam Gambhir not out 42

Virender Sehwag c Cooper b George 8

Ajinkya Rahane c Ludeman b Lalor 0

Rohit Sharma not out 38

Extras: (lb2) 2

Total: (in 30 overs) 90 for 2

Fall of wickets: 1-9, 2-14

Bowling: Peter George 7-3-12-1, Josh Lalor 7-2-16-1, Cameron Boyce 7-0-38-0, Jason Holland 8-0-21-0, Usman Khawaja 1-0-1-0.

Chairman's XI (2nd Innings):

Usman Khawaja not out 56

Phil Hughes not out 42

Extras (LB-1, NB-1) 2

Total (in 30 overs)  100 for no loss

Bowling: Zaheer Khan 5-1-13-0, Ishant Sharma 4-0-18-0, Umesh Yadav 3-0-11-0, Ravichandran Ashwin 10-2-28-0, Pragyan Ojha 8-1-29-0.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

IPL 2022

IPL 2022