» Cricket » Australia's Bailey to lead Kings XI Punjab

Australia's Bailey to lead Kings XI Punjab

March 18, 2014 16:42 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

George BaileyAustralia’s George Bailey will lead Kings XI Punjab in the seventh edition of the Indian Premier League.

“I am extremely honoured and excited to lead Kings XI Punjab this season. I would like to thank the franchisee for having faith in me and entrusting me this opportunity.

"I hope to live up to the expectations of the franchise and its fans and I am looking forward to playing with some of the finest cricketers in the team,” said Australia’s T20 team captain Bailey, who was bought by Kings XI franchise in this year’s auction at a price tag of Rs 3.25 crore.

Bailey is the third overseas player to be named captain of a team this IPL season, the others being Shane Watson, who will lead Rajasthan Royals, and Kevin Pietersen, who will lead Delhi Daredevils.

Kings XI coach Sanjay Bangar said Bailey has proved his mettle as a captain by leading the Australian team to several victories in the past.

“He was a popular choice at the franchise and we are hopeful that his experience and guidance will lead the team to great success this season,” he said.

Bailey had previously played for Chennai Super Kings for three years, from the 2009 season, before being released in 2012.

Kings XI Punjab had retained David Miller and Manan Vohra for the upcoming edition, starting next month.

Their costliest purchase in last month's auction was Australia pacer Mitchell Johnson, for Rs 6.5 crore, while Glenn Maxwell was bought for Rs 6 crore, and Virender Sehwag for Rs 3.2 crore.

Player From Type Price Paid (in Rs.)
David Miller South Africa Batsman Retained
Manan Vohra India Batsman Retained
Mitchell Johnson Australia All-Rounder 6,50,00,000
Glenn Maxwell Australia All-Rounder 6,00,00,000
George Bailey Australia Batsman 3,25,00,000
Virender Sehwag India Batsman 3,20,00,000
Rishi Dhawan India All-Rounder 3,00,00,000
Wriddhiman Saha India Wicket Keeper 2,20,00,000
Shaun Marsh Australia Batsman 2,20,00,000
Cheteshwar Pujara India Batsman 1,90,00,000
Beuran Hendricks South Africa Bowler 1,80,00,000
Lakshmipathy Balaji India Bowler 1,80,00,000
Thisara Perera Sri Lanka All-Rounder 1,60,00,000
Gurkeerat Singh India Batsman 1,30,00,000
Murali Kartik India Bowler 1,00,00,000
Sandeep Sharma India Bowler 85,00,000
Mandeep Singh India All-Rounder 80,00,000
Akshar Patel India All-Rounder 75,00,000
Parvinder Awana India Bowler 65,00,000
Shardul Thakur India Bowler 20,00,000
Anureet Singh India Bowler 20,00,000
Shivam Sharma India Bowler 10,00,000
Karanveer Singh India All-Rounder 10,00,000

Image: George Bailey

Photograph: BCCI

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Indian Premier League - 2021

Indian Premier League - 2021