» Cricket » Anderson smashes New Zealand to 3-0 T20 sweep vs Bangladesh

Anderson smashes New Zealand to 3-0 T20 sweep vs Bangladesh

January 08, 2017 17:24 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Corey Anderson smashed 10 sixes in his unbeaten 94 as New Zealand completed a 3-0 sweep of their Twenty20 series against Bangladesh with a 27-run win in the final match at Mount Maunganui on Sunday.

New Zealand's Corey AndersonThe hosts had been reduced to 41-3 in the seventh over after Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza won the toss and opted to bowl first, but Anderson then added 124 with Kane Williamson for the fourth wicket to set up New Zealand's total of 194-4.

In reply, Bangladesh made a brisk start with a 44-run opening stand but could reach only 167 for six in their 20 overs.

Opening batsman Soumya Sarkar and Shakib Al Hasan scored 42 and 41 respectively for the touring side, who will next play two test matches in New Zealand starting on Thursday.

Bangladesh were 82-1 in the ninth over after the start provided by Tamim Iqbal (24) and Sarkar but the introduction of New Zealand leg-spinner Ish Sodhi (2-22) and other slow bowlers checked their progress.

Bangladesh paceman Rubel Hossain (3-31) dismissed James Neesham for 15 and Colin Munro for a duck in the same over before Mosaddek Hossain struck with his first ball to send back Tom Bruce (five).

Captain Williamson (60) then struck his second fifty of the series while left-hander Anderson provided the late assault during his 41-ball knock with the duo also bringing up the side's highest fourth-wicket stand in T20 internationals.

Anderson slammed part-time medium-pacer Sarkar for a hat-trick of sixes over mid-wicket, his 10 sixes the highest by a New Zealander in the T20 format.


New Zealand

K Williamson b Rubel Hossain 60

J Neesham lbw Rubel Hossain 15

C Munro c Soumya Sarkar b Rubel Hossain 0

T Bruce c Imrul Kayes b Mosaddek Hossain 5

C Anderson not out 94

C de Grandhomme not out 4

Extras (lb-14, w-2): 16

Total (For 4 wkts, 20 overs): 194

Fall of wickets: 1-34, 2-36, 3-41, 4-165

Bowling: Mashrafe 3.2-0-42-0, Taskin 4-0-37-0 (2w), Rubel 4-0-31-3, Shakib 4-0-22-0, Mosaddek 3.4-0-27-1, Soumya 1-0-21-0.


Tamim Iqbal c de Grandhomme b Boult 24

Soumya Sarkar c&b Sodhi 42

Sabbir Rahman b Williamson 18

Shakib Al Hasan c Anderson b Boult 41

Mahmudullah b Sodhi 18

Mosaddek Hossain c de Grandhomme b Santner 12

Nurul Hasan not out 7

Rubel Hossain not out 1

Extras: (LB-1, W-3) 4

Total: (for six wickets in 20 overs) 167

Fall of wickets: 1-44, 2-82, 3-97, 4-122, 5-150, 6-161

Bowling: Santner 4-0-37-1, Wheeler 4-0-29-0, Boult 4-0-48-2, Neesham 1-0-17-0, Sodhi 4-0-22-2, de Grandhomme 1-0-4-0, Williamson 2-0-9-1.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
© Copyright 2021 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

T20 World Cup 2021