» Cricket » Akshar Patel recalled to Indian ODI squad

Akshar Patel recalled to Indian ODI squad

Last updated on: October 14, 2014 15:51 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Akshar Patel in action for Kings XI Punjab. Photograph: BCCI

Left-arm spinner Akshar Patel was recalled to the Indian squad for the last two One-Day Internationals against the West Indies, while senior off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin continues to be rested.

The last two ODIs in the five-match series will be played in Dharamshala and Kolkata on October 17 and 20 respectively.

India won the second ODI in Delhi to level the series at 1-1 after being stunned in the opening match in Kochi.

The third match in Visakhapatnam was abandoned because of cyclone 'Hudhud'.

Ishant Sharma, who came in for the injured Mohit Sharma, retained his place in the squad.

Following an impressive showing in the Indian Premier League for Kings XI Punjab earlier this year, when he took 17 wickets in 17 games at a fine average of 23.82, Patel was picked in the second-string Indian team for the three-match ODI series in Bangladesh. He, however, failed to make an impression there with both bat and ball.

He was also included in the Indian T20I squad which will play the Windies in a one-off T20 International in Cuttack on October 22.

Karnataka batsman Manish Pandey also forced his way into T20 team after playing a stellar role in helping Kolkata Knight Riders win the IPL title.

He scored 401 runs in 16 matches in the IPL, at an average of 30.84 and strike rate of 117.94.

Pandey and Patel replaced Dhawal Kulkarni and Ambati Rayudu in the Twenty20 side, which was last seen in action during the tour of England.

Ashwin was rested for the first three matches of the series and continues to remain on the sidelines.

The Board President's squad for a three-day practice game against the West Indies, in Kanpur from October 25, was also named.

Suresh Raina will lead the 14-member side, which has Rohit Sharma and Jammu and Kashmir all-rounder Parveez Rasool.

The 25-year-old Rasool made his India debut with an ODI against Bangladesh earlier this year.

Indian squad for last two ODIs: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Murali Vijay, Kuldeep Yadav, Akshar Patel.

Squad for one-off T20I: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Stuart Binny, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel , Karn Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Sanju Samson, Manish Pandey, Umesh Yadav.

Board President's squad: Suresh Raina (captain), Jiwanjot Singh, K L Rahul, Naman Ojha, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Wriddhiman Saha, Karun Nair, Parveez Rasool, Pankaj Singh, Ishwar Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Karn Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox: