Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:

Home > India > Cricket > Reuters > Report

   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

SL omit key players for T20 game

February 04, 2009 10:31 IST

Skipper Mahela Jayawardene [Images] and vice-captain Kumar Sangakkara were left out of Sri Lanka's [Images] 15-man squad on Tuesday for the Twenty20 [Images] match against India next week.

Tillakaratne Dilshan [Images] will lead the side, with Chamara Kapugedera [Images] serving as his deputy.

It is so far unclear whether Jayawardene and Sangakkara have been dropped or rested.

Sri Lanka have, though, decided to rest bowlers Muttiah Muralitharan [Images], Chaminda Vaas [Images], Ajantha Mendis [Images] and Nuwan Kulasekera.

Paceman Lasith Malinga [Images] returns from a knee injury which has kept him out for 12 months.

The match in Colombo will be played on February 10.

Sri Lanka squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya [Images], Jehan Mubarak, Chamara Kapugedera, Chamara Silva, Indika de Saram, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Farveez Maharoof, Kaushal Weeraratne, Malinga Bandara, Jeevantha Kulatunga, Dilhara Lokuhettige, Mahela Udawatte, Thilan Thushara.

© Copyright 2008 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

   Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop