Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > Cricket > PTI > Report

Ponting takes top honours at glittering ICC Awards

A V Nayudu | September 11, 2007 10:35 IST
Last Updated: September 11, 2007 17:41 IST

Related Articles
Tendulkar stays MVP
Rediff ODI rankings: India seventh
Tendulkar returns with teammates
India drops to 6th in ICC rankings

Australian captain Ricky Ponting [Images] was on Monday night named Player of the Year at the prestigious ICC [Images] Awards, held at a glittering ceremony in Johannesburg.

Ponting also scooped the Captain of the Year award and was named captain of both ICC ODI and Test teams of the Year, chosen by a panel of some of the greats of the game.

The 32-year-old Tasmanian has had an outstanding year with the bat, dominating at both Test and ODI levels, and has also established himself as one of the most tactically aware and fearless captains in the world.

Ponting was joined on the winners' list by his teammates Matthew Hayden [Images], who took the ODI Player of the Year award, and Shaun Tait, who was named Emerging Player of the Year.

For the first time, there was an award for the Associate ODI Player of the Year to mark the contribution that the non-Full Member teams are making to the world of cricket.

Kenya's allrounder Thomas Odoyo became the inaugural winner of this award, having a fine year with both bat and ball.

Pakistan run machine Mohammad Yousuf [Images] scooped the Test Player of the Year award and Sri Lanka [Images] took the Spirit of Cricket Award.

"The past year has been another exciting one for cricket fans around the world in a time that included the ICC Champions Trophy and the ICC Cricket World Cup. These players have contributed hugely to our enjoyment," ICC President Ray Mali said at the function.

"It is a great honour for me to receive this award. It's not so long ago that my place in the side was far from certain so this is very pleasing for me," accepting ODI Player of the Year Hayden said.

The hard-hitting opener has had an outstanding year in ODIs and played no small part in making sure his side took top honours at the ICC Cricket World Cup in the West Indies [Images].

"Batting with Adam Gilchrist [Images] is always fun. I suppose the style we adopt could be regarded as risky and it's definitely something we have talked about," he said.

"It has been a great year for me and for the team so I am delighted to pick up this award," he said.

ICC President Ray Mali said: "On behalf of the ICC I would like to congratulate Matthew on winning this award."

Hayden beat off the challenge of teammates Ponting and Glenn McGrath to secure the award.

He was presented the award by former Pakistan batsman and respected commentator Rameez Raja.

On winning the Cricketer of the Year Award, Ponting said: "It's more of an eventful night that I thought it would be and I am honoured. It's a great thrill for me and something I am very proud of. It's a great achievement and something I will probably look back on this in years to come with a lot of pride.

"I am the first player to win this award twice in a row and maybe if I keep my head down there might be more around the corner," he said.

Ponting received the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy from ICC President Ray Mali.

The other short-listed nominees for the award were Yousuf and Shivnarine Chanderpaul [Images]. This is the second year running that Ponting has scooped the top award.

Pakistan run machine Yousuf was named Test Player of the year. The 33-year-old from Lahore [Images] topped the poll ahead of England's [Images] Kevin Pietersen [Images] and last year's winner Ricky Ponting of Australia to scoop the award.

"This is the first time for a Pakistan player to win this award so I am particularly delighted with that. Thanks to Allah and my Pakistan teammates. I want to thank the ICC panel for voting for me," a thrilled Yousuf said.

Yousuf is the fourth recipient of the Test Player of the Year award following on from Ponting last year, Jacques Kallis [Images] of South Africa in 2005 and India's Rahul Dravid [Images] in 2004.

The full list of winners is:

Cricketer of the Year - Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Test Player of the Year - Mohammad Yousuf (Pak)
ODI Player of the Year - Matthew Hayden (Aus)
Women's Cricketer of the Year  - Jhulan Goswami ( Ind)
Emerging Player of the Year - Shaun Tait (Aus)
Associate ODI Player of the Year - Thomas Odoyo (Ken)
Captain of the Year - Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Spirit of Cricket Award - Sri Lanka
Umpire of the Year - Simon Taufel

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.