You are here: Rediff Home » India » Cricket » Report
Search: The Web
   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print | Get latest news on your desktop

Williams denies Bengal outright win
Get Cricket updates:What's this?
January 24, 2006 19:22 IST

Bengal head for Lucknow to play the Ranji Trophy final against Uttar Pradesh after getting the better of Baroda in a drawn semi-final, in Kolkata on Tuesday, by virtue of the first innings lead.

Baroda denied Bengal an outright victory, thanks to a dogged 135 by Connor Williams that helped them finish the second innings on 252 for eight, when bad light stopped play four overs before the stipulated 90 overs.

- Ranji Trophy coverage

This is the eleventh time that Bengal have reached the final, the last being in 93-94, when they lost to Mumbai.

Bengal have won the Ranji Trophy twice, once in 1938-39 and then again in 1989-90, when Sambaran Banerjee's side defeated Delhi.

It is just coincidence that as Bengal stands at the doorstep of history, the team is led by another wicket-keeper batsmen, Deep Dasgupta.

With Bengal already having sealed a berth in the final, play on the fifth day was of academic interest.

The final will be played at the K D Singh Babu stadium in Lucknow from January 30 to February 3.

Uttar Pradesh are making their second appearance in the final.


Baroda (1st innings): 241

Bengal (1st innings): 619

Baroda (2nd innings): (overnight 101/2)
P Shah b R Bose 13
R Solanki b L R Shukla 10
C Williams not out 135
J Martin c A Jhunjhunwala b R Bose 34
Y K Pathan c A Jhunjhunwala b S S Singh 5
A Bhoite c LR Shukla b S S Singh 14
R Pawar c K H Mondal b S S Singh 6
K Powar c A Jhunjhunwala b S S Singh 6
R Patel c & b M Tiwari 2
S Joshi not out 0

Extras: (b-17, lb-2, nb-8) 27

Total: (For 8 wickets, 130 overs) 252

Fall of wickets: 1-19, 2-30, 3-114, 4-123, 5-155, 6-172, 7-200, 8-205.

Bowling: S S Paul 22-10-30-0, R Bose 21-4-54-2, L R Shukla 20-6-36-1, S Lahiri 21-4-32-0, S S Singh 36-11-66-4, M Tiwari 8-0-14-1, S Das 1-0-1-0, K H Mondal 1-1-0-0.

 Email  |    Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

© 2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback