The Web


 Latest Cricket news on mobile: sms CRI to 7333

Home > Cricket > Sri Lanka's tour of India 2005 > Report

India retain winning combination

Onkar Singh in Mohali | October 28, 2005 22:02 IST
Last Updated: October 28, 2005 22:26 IST

Buoyed by the team's showing in the first two matches, the Indian selectors decided to retain the winning combination for the next three one-day internationals against the visiting Sri Lankans.

As a result of their decision deposed India captain Sourav Ganguly [Images] will have to bide time till November 6, when the selectors meet in Ahmedabad, which hosts the fifth ODI, to name the team for the last two matches in the seven-match series.

India won the first one-day international in Nagpur by 152 runs and the second match in Mohali by eight wickets.

Ganguly was not considered for the first two one-dayers of the series because of a mild tennis elbow injury, but has since proved his fitness and form, scoring a century for East Zone in the Duleep Trophy last week.

Chairman of selectors Kiran More, who spoke to the media after the selection committee meeting in Mohali on Friday, said all issues were discussed and "since all the players are doing well it was decided that the team be retained".

"All aspects were taken into account. Keeping in mind the brilliant performance of the team there was no need to change the composition," he said.

  • Sms MATCH to 7333 for match summary

Asked about Ganguly returning to the team, he said, "Sourav is a great player and can return to the team any time."

The third ODI will be played at Jaipur on Monday, with the fourth and fifth are at Pune (November 3) and Ahmedabad (November 6).

Coach Greg Chappell [Images], captain Rahul Dravid [Images] and physio John Gloster attended the selection meeting.

More also informed that Gloster submitted a report on Mohammad Kaif and Anil Kumble's [Images] fitness and both players have been advised more rest.

The 15-member team:
Rahul Dravid (captain), Virender Sehwag [Images] (vice-captain), Sachin Tendulkar [Images], Yuvraj Singh [Images], Y Venugopala Rao, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni [Images] (w/k), Irfan Pathan [Images], Ajit Agarkar [Images], Harbhajan Singh [Images], Murali Kartik [Images], Jai Prakash Yadav, S Sreesanth [Images], Gautam Gambhir [Images] and Rudra Pratap Singh.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

Sri Lanka's tour of India 2005: The Complete Coverage

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.