Home > Cricket > Reuters > Report

Sri Lanka to host Asia Cup in July

March 06, 2004 16:02 IST

Six nations will participate in the Asia Cup to be played in Sri Lanka from July 15 to August 1, cricket officials said on Saturday.

Nepal and another country to be named later would join the four Test-playing nations of Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the tournament.

"The decision was taken at a meeting of the executive board on Thursday," Asharful Haque, secretary of Asian Cricket Council told a news conference.

The meeting also decided to hold a 16-nation Asian Cricket Council Trophy from June 12 to June 22 in Kuala Lumpur, he said.

Afghanistan, Bahrain, Iran and Saudi Arabia would participate in the trophy for the first time.

Article Tools
Email this article
Print this article
Write us a letter
Share you comments

People Who Read This Also Read

Saqlain, Afridi in ODI squad

India will win Tests 1-0: Borde

Indians positive about Pak tour

© Copyright 2004 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

Copyright © 2004 rediff.com India Limited. All Rights Reserved.