The Challenge of Australia


The Web


Home > Cricket > The Challenge of Australia > PTI > Report

India win toss and elect to field

December 04, 2003 05:43 IST

Indian captain Sourav Ganguly won the toss and elected to field against Australia in the first Test at the Gabba here today.

India chose Virender Sehwag and Akash Chopra as their opening batting combination and left out leg-spinner Anil Kumble, going in for a three-pronged pace attack in Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra and Ajit Agarkar with Harbhajan Singh as the lone specialist spinner.

Australia also lined-up a three-pacer-and-spinner bowling attack, Nathan Bracken getting the nod ahead of Brad Williams.

India are to play four Tests followed by a triangular one-day series involving Zimbabwe as the third team on their tour Down Under.


India: Akash Chopra, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, V V S Laxman, Parthiv Patel, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Ajit Agarkar.

Australia: Justin Langer, Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting, Damien Martyn, Simon Katich, Steve Waugh, Adam Gilchrist, Andrew Bichel, Stuart MacGill, Jason Gillespie, Nathan Bracken.

Umpires: Rudi Koertzen (South Africa) and Steve Bucknor (West Indies).

Match-referee: Mike Procter (South Africa).

Article Tools
Email this article
Print this article
Write us a letter

Related Stories

Indians face no-win situation

Kartik, Yuvraj rejected for Aus

Pathan, Chopra in probables

People Who Read This Also Read

Indians work on reputation

Can India stay put at the crease

Australia dominate opening day

© Copyright 2003 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

The Challenge of Australia: The Complete Coverage

Copyright © 2003 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.