Rediff Logo
Channels:   Astrology | Contests | E-cards | Money | Movies | Romance | Search | Women
Partner Channels:    Auctions | Health | Home & Decor | IT Education | Jobs | Matrimonial
Home > Cricket > PTI > News
December 6, 2001

 -  News
 -  Diary
 -  Betting Scandal
 -  Schedule
 -  Interview
 -  Columns
 -  Gallery
 -  Statistics
 -  Earlier tours
 -  Specials
 -  Archives
 -  Search Rediff

  Call India
   Direct Service

  Save upto 60% over
    AT&T, MCI
  Rates 29.9/min
   Select Cities

   Prepaid Cards

  Mumbai 24/min
  Chennai 33/min
  Other Cities

 India Abroad
Weekly Newspaper

  In-depth news

  Community Focus

  16 Page Magazine
For 4 free issues
Click here!

 Search the Internet
 South Africa

E-Mail this report to a friend
Print this page Best Printed on  HP Laserjets

Sehwag, Srinath back for Ahmedabad Test

Having served the one-Test ban, imposed by English match-referee Mike Denness, middle-order bat Virendra Sehwag is back in the Indian squad for the second Test against England, starting at Ahmedabad on December 11.

So is veteran speedster Javagal Srinath, who missed the first Test due to an injury, while Baroda batsman Jacob Martin and Railways all-rounder Sanjay Bangar have been dropped from the team which did duty in the first Test, Board of Control for Cricket in India secretary Niranjan Shah informed.

Martin, who was included because first choice Sehwag had to sit out for the Mohali Test following a deal between the ICC and the BCCI, promptly made way for the Delhi batsman, keeping in line with BCCI president Jagmohan Dalmiya's announcement in Calcutta earlier that Sehwag would play in the second Test.

Srinath, who submitted his fitness report to the BCCI on Thursday, replaces debutant Bangar, who sustained a hamstring injury on the opening day of the first Test.

The selection committee, which met in Mohali, retained the rest of the squad.

The team: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Shiv Sunder Das, Connor Williams, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, V V S Laxman, Deep Dasgupta, Virender Sehwag, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, Javagal Srinath, Tinu Yoanan, Iqbal Siddiqui, Sharandeep Singh.

Also read:

India win first Test - Prem Panicker's match report

Mail Cricket Editor

(c) Copyright 2000 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.