Rediff Logo
Channels: Astrology | Broadband | Chat | Contests | E-cards | Money | Movies | Romance | Search | Wedding | Women
Partner Channels: Auctions | Auto | Bill Pay | IT Education | Jobs | Lifestyle | Technology | Travel
Home > Cricket > News > Report
April 23, 2001

 -  News
 -  Diary
 -  Betting Scandal
 -  Schedule
 -  Statistics
 -  Interview
 -  Columns
 -  Gallery
 -  Broadband
 -  Match Reports
 -  Archives
 -  Search Rediff

 Search the Internet
 India Australia Tour

E-Mail this report to a friend

Print this page

Baroda win Ranji Trophy

Baroda defeated the Railways by 21 runs to clinch the Ranji Trophy for the fifth time, on the final day of the five-day cricket match in Baroda on Monday.

In an inspiring spell of fast bowling, Zaheer Khan tore through the Railway defence to pick five wickets and enable Baroda win the final at the Gujarat State Fertilizer Corporation Ground.

The left-arm paceman claimed five of the six Railway wickets to fall on Monday morning after bowling partner Rakesh Patel was forced to watch the proceedings from the pavilion. Khan finished with figures of 5 for 43 and match figures of 8 for 145.

Baroda lifted the trophy after 43 years. Their fifth championship win was celebrated with frenzy, as the last wicket fell when Wankhede got an inside edged off Khan to find his wicket castled.

Earlier, Railways, chasing 223 for victory, were struggling at 91 for four at stumps on Sunday.

Railways lost Amit Pagnis (31), Sanjay Bangar (7), Tejinder Pal Singh (5) and captain Abhay Sharma (17) in quick succession and still needed 132 runs to win on a final day wicket.

Yere Goud was batting on 17 with Sudhir Wankhede on 11 at close of play on the fourth day.

Earlier, on Sunday, Baroda had added 190 to their overnight 183 for two before they were bowled out for 373.

Satyajit Parab, overnight 98, led his team's charge with a well-compiled 141. He shared in a 116-run third wicket stand with captain Jacob Martin, who scored an unbeaten 87.

Sanjay Bangar was the most successful Railways bowler, picking up three wickets for 94 runs.


Baroda (1st innings): 243

Railways (1st innings): 394

Baroda (2nd innings): 373

Railways (2nd innings):
A Pagnis c and b Bhoite 31
S Bangar b Buch 7
Tejinderpal Singh c Zaheer Khan b Bhoite 5
Y Goud c Mongia b Zaheer Khan 20
A Sharma c Williams b Buch 17
S Wankhede b Zaheer khan 58
S Khanolkar lbw Zaheer Khan 3
S Sahu c Martin b Zaheer Khan 42
M Kartik c Mongia b Bhoite 2
K Parida c Buch b Zaheer Khan 0
Harvinder Singh not out 2
Extras (LB7, B4, NB2, W1) 14
Total (all out in 64.2 overs) 201
Fall of wickets: 1-40, 2-44, 3-46, 4-69, 5-101, 6-107, 7-190, 8-193, 9-194.
Bowling: Zaheer Khan 18.2-1-43-5, I Pathan 2-0-13-0, V Buch 26-7-75-2, A Bhoite 18-1-59-3.

You may also want to see
The road to the Ranji Trophy final

Mail Cricket Editor