NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Chinappa bags a double

Chinappa bags a double

June 20, 2003 20:23 IST

Youngest national women's champion Joshna Chinappa of Chennai bagged a grand double, winning both the women's and girls' under-19 titles in the Indian Oil-Servo All India Squash championship at the Otters Club in Mumbai on Friday.

Her state mate and top seed Saurav Ghosal won the boys' under-19 title.

The Chennai lass, who was seeded second in the women's section, caused a mild flutter when she crushed another national champion and top seed Mekhala Subedar of Maharashtra 10-9, 9-5, 9-0.

In the girls' under-19 final, where she was the top seed, Chinappa sidelined second seed Supriya Balsekar of Mumbai 9-3, 9-6, 10-8.

Ghosal rallied superbly after dropping the first game 3-9, before pipping second seed Gaurav Nandrajog of Delhi 3-9, 9-3, 8-9, 9-0, 9-3 in 40 minutes.

Top seed and local girl Alisha Mashruwala won the girls' under-17 title when she subdued second seed Sonali Philip of Chennai 9-2, 9-2, 9-2 while third seed Dipika Pallikal of Mumbai also bagged a double, winning the girls' under-15 and girls' under-13 titles.

The boys' under-15 title was won by third seed Vikram Malhotra of Mumbai while his citymate Ramit Tondon pocketed a double, winning the boys' under-13 and under-11 titles.

In the last match of the championship, top seed Ritwik Bhattacharya of Delhi beat third seed Saurav Ghosal of Chennai 9-3, 9-1, 9-1 to win the men's title and Rs 50,000 cash prize.

Ghosal had to settle for Rs 25,000.

Results (all finals):

Women: Joshna Chinappa bt Mekhala Subedar 10-8, 9-5, 9-0.

Girls' under-19: Joshna Chinappa bt Supriya Balsekar 9-3, 9-6, 10-8.

Girls' under-17: Alisha Mashruwala bt Sonali Philip 9-2, 9-2, 9-2.

Girls' under-15: Dipika Pallikal bt Shibani Philip 3-9, 9-7, 9-3, 9-5.

Girls' under-13: Dipika Pallikal bt V Anwesha 10-8, 9-4, 9-5.

Girls' under-11: Sachika Balwani bt Dheeya Somaiya 9-0, 9-3, 10-9.

Professionals: Balamurgan bt Santosh More 9-4, 9-3, 9-4.

Men: Ritwik Bhattacharya bt Saurav Ghosal 9-3, 9-1, 9-1.

Boys' under-19: Saurav Ghosal bt Gaurav Nandrajog 3-9, 9-3, 8-9, 9-0, 9-3.

Boys' under-15: Vikram Malhotra bt Harinderpal Sandhu 9-6, 9-3, 7-9, 1-9, 9-0.

Boys' under-13: Ramit Tondon bt Prashanth Kumar 9-4, 9-4, 8-10, 9-5.

Boys' under-11: Ramit Tondon bt Abhishek Pradhan 9-0, 9-0, 9-2.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.