NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Saina Nehwal conferred Khel Ratna

Saina Nehwal conferred Khel Ratna

Last updated on: August 29, 2010 20:47 IST

Badminton ace Saina Nehwal, whose phenomenal rise was highlighted by three top-flight international titles recently, was on Sunday conferred the coveted Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna at a glittering ceremony in New Delhi.

saina nehwalSaina's achievements in the past year made her an automatic choice for the prestigious award, India's highest sports honour.

The Hyderabadi shuttler though did not collect the award -- which comprises a medal, citation and cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh -- personally, as she is yet to return from Paris, where she lost in the quarter-finals of the World Championships.

An Arjuna awardee last year, Saina rose to No 2 in the world rankings and also completed a hat-trick of international titles, including back-to-back Super Series victories in Singapore and Indonesia in June.

Former Indian hockey skipper Sandeep Singh and women's cricket captain Jhulan Goswami were among the 15 sportspersons who received the Arjuna Award from President Pratibha Patil at Rashtrapati Bhawan.

Boxer Dinesh Kumar, swimmer Rehan Poncha, the world's second youngest Grandmaster Parimarjan Negi and Olympian wrestler Rajiv Tomar also received the Arjuna award.

 Women's hockey player Jasjeet Kaur Handa also missed the ceremony, as she is in Argentina for the FIH World Cup.

No male cricketer got the honour, while Deepak Mondal was the lone footballer and Rajeev Tomar the lone wrestler to get Arjuna.

Others who were conferred the award were Sanjeev Rajput (shooting), Kapil Dev (volleyball), Rehan Poncha (swimming), Dinesh Kumar (kabaddi), Rajesh Chaudhary (yachting) and Jagseer Singh (para-Olympian).

Sandeep was in superb form during India's recent hockey tour of Europe, while seasoned pacewoman Jhulan is currently heading the bowling list in the International Cricket Council's ODI women's rankings.

Dinesh had won the light-heavyweight 81kg Commonwealth Championships title earlier this year, while Poncha is India's best bet for a swimming medal at this year's Commonwealth Games.

The Dronacharya award, the top recognition for coaches in the country, was conferred on five, including L Ibomcha Singh (boxing), Ajay Kumar Bansal (hockey), AK Kutty (athletics), Captain Chandrup (wrestling) and Subhash B Aggarwal (billiards and snooker).

The Arjuna and Dronacharya awardees got a statuette, citation and cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each.

The Dhyan Chand award, given for life-time contribution to sports development, was conferred on Satish Pillai (athletics), Kuldeep Singh (wrestling) and Anita Chanu (weightlifting).

The award carries a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh, a statuette and citation.

The Services Sports Control Board (SSCB), Tata Steel Limited and Khel Evam Yuva Vibhag of Government of Madhya Pradesh won Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Puruskar, instituted last year, for their contribution to sports.

List of the awardees:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award: Saina Nehwal (Badminton).

Arjuna Awards: Joseph Abraham, Krishna Poonia (both Athletics), Dinesh Kumar (Boxing), Parimrajan Negi (Chess), Jhulan Goswami (Women's Cricket), Deepak Kumar Mandal (Football), Sandeep Singh (Men's Hockey), Jasjeet Kaur Handa (Women's Hockey), Dinesh Kumar (Kabaddi), Sanjeev Rajput (Shooting), Rehan Jehangir Poncha (Swimming), Kapil Dev KJ (Volleyball), Rajeev Tomar (Wrestling), Rajesh Chaudhary (Yachting), Jagseer Singh (Para- Olympics athletics).

Dhyan Chand Awards: Satish Pillai (Athletics), Kuldeep Singh (Wrestling), Anita Chanu (Weightlifting).

Dronacharya Awards: A K Kutty (Athletics), Subhash B Aggarwal (Billiards and Snooker), L Ibomcha Singh (Boxing), Ajay Kumar Bansal (Hockey), Captain Chandrup (Wrestling).

Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Puruskar: Services Sports Control Board (SSCB), Tata Steel Limited, Khel Evam Yuva Vibhag (Government of Madhya Pradesh).