NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Indian shooters dominate

Indian shooters dominate

April 01, 2004 21:38 IST

Indian marksmen continued to dominate at the shooting range, grabbing all the six gold medals at stake on the third day of the shooting event at the 9th SAF Games in Islamabad on Thursday.

With today's success, India have bagged 10 of the 12 gold medals on offer along with three silver and four bronze.

The Indian medal hunt began with trap shooter Zoravar Singh Sandhu continuing his fine form to score 48 out of 50 points in the final to finish with a tally of 121 points and take the gold.

Other Indians in the fray, Birendeep Singh Sodhi (105) and Ranjit Nobis (97) also put up an impressive show to assure the country the team gold.

Former Commonwealth Games gold medallist Jaspal Rana was in his element today as he put behind his recent disappointing performances to claim the gold in the 25m rapid fire pistol event with a total of 670.9 points.

The trio of Rana, B L Dhaka and Ronak Pandit won the team gold. Pakistan and Sri Lanka bagged the silver and bronze medals respectively.

However, Dhaka, who was undefeated in this event since 1993, failed to even finish among the medals bracket in the individual championship.

Sanjeev Rajput scored a total of 1252 points to lead an Indian 1-2 in the 50m bore 3-position rifle event with Fariduddin (1222.7) winning the silver. The duo, along with army shooter Palangappa (1120), won the team gold.


50m bore 3-position rifle: Individual: 1 Sanjeev Rajput (Ind - 1156-96.4) 1252.4 pts; 2 Fariduddin (Ind - 1129-93.7) 1222.7; 3 Aman Md Shoyeb (Bang - 1124-93.9) 1217.9.

Team: 1. India (Rajput, Fariduddin, Palangappa) 3405; 2. Bangladesh (Anwer, Shoyeb, Shahrear) 3341; 3 Pakistan (M A Tahir, Kaleem, Dawood Jan) 3336.

25m rapid fire pistol: 1 Jaspal Rana (Ind - 574-96.9) 670.9 pts; 2 Afsar Khan (Pak - 566-96.5) 662.5; 3 Zahid Ali (Pak - 568-89.2) 657.2.

Team: 1 India (Jaspal Rana, B L Dhaka, Ronak Pandit) 1700; 2 Pakistan (Zahid Ali, Afsar Khan, Kashif Riaz) 1693; 3 Sri Lanka (Raja Rohitha, G M Chandana, Dasanyaka) 1611.

Trap: Individual: Zoaravar Singh Sandhu (Ind) 121, 2 Shahzad Noor (Pak) 107, 3 Birendeep Singh Sodhi (Ind) 105.

Team: India (Zoravar, Birendeep, Ranjit Nobis) 323; 2 Pakistan (Shahzad Noor, Mehmood Sultan, Fakhar-ul-Islam) 294; 3 Bangladesh (Alatamash Kabir, Iqbal Islam, Noor-uddin Salim) 215.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.