NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Mohun Bagan win Federation Cup

Mohun Bagan win Federation Cup

December 21, 2008 22:32 IST

Jose Ramirez Barreto's goal in the second-half gave Mohun Bagan a 1-0 victory over a 10-man Dempo in the Federation Cup final in Kolkata on Sunday.

The victory saw the green-and-maroon brigade clinch their 13th Federation Cup title.

Irrespective of the absence of their regular skipper Baichung Bhutia, out due to a knee ankle injury, Mohun Bagan dominated the final right from the start on a misty and cold evening at the Yuba Bharati Krirangan Salt Lake stadium.

Having missed a couple of chances and playing goalless in the first-half, Bagan tried their best after the changeover and P C Lalawmpuia almost scored immediately but his shot went off target.

In the 67th minute, Lalawmpuia got a golden chance but his effort was saved at the expense of a corner. Lal Kamal took the corner, which looped into the Dempo box and Habibur Rahman Mondal headed the ball for Barreto to take a shot. The Brazilian's powerful strike hit the crossbar before going into the Dempo net sending the boisterous home crowd in the celebrations.

Barreto's goal also avenged Mohun Bagan's 0-2 loss to Dempo the last time the two teams met in a Federation Cup final in 2004.

Dempo looked set for the equaliser as the Goans launched a feverish attack thereafter but they were reduced to ten men as ace striker Ranty was booked twice after the Nigerian brought down Marcos Pereira in the 78th minute.

The spree of bookings continued with the Tamin Nadu referee T Pradeep Kumar showing the yellow card to Roberto Mendes Silva as their team saw four cards overall.

With Bagan winning, the prize distribution ceremony was reduced to chaos with the huge home support going berserk. Minutes after the final whistle blew, the Bagan supporters got into the stadium as the field was reduced to a sea of people, giving the policemen a tough time.

Incidentally, the last time they won the title was also at the same venue in 2006. Mohun Bagan are also runners-up four times.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.