NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Hockey India League: Charlesworth appointed coach of Mumbai franchise

Hockey India League: Charlesworth appointed coach of Mumbai franchise

December 04, 2012 09:02 IST

Former Australian player and coach Ric Charlesworth was today roped in as coach of the Mumbai franchise for the upcoming Hockey India League starting next year.

"The Burman family is proud to welcome Ric Charlesworth to the Mumbai team. Ric brings a wealth of experience to the role," Dabur Vice Chairman Amit Burman said.

"His track record and reputation as a player, great teacher and as a coach makes us confident that this appointment will translate to great success for the Mumbai franchise and will be an enriching experience for the players in the team.

"I am confident that with Ric, we will be able to identify new talent that can be groomed to play for India," he added.

Charlesworth was head coach of the Australian Women's team from 1993 to 2000, and steered the team to the Champion's Trophy in 1993, 1995, 1997 and 1999, the World Cup in 1994 and 1998 besides gold medals in the Atlanta Olympics in 1996 and Sydney Olympics in 2000 and the 1998 Commonwealth Games in Kuala Lumpur.

In 2009, Charlesworth was appointed coach of the Australian men's national hockey team. The team went on to win the 2009 and 2010 Champions Trophy, the 2010 World Cup and the 2010 Commonwealth Games. In 2001, the team won a record fourth consecutive Champions trophy.

Charlesworth said he was excited about working with the franchise.

"Hockey is important in India. We will strive to best prepare our players for their personal future in the Hockey India League and for India. To me it's all about helping these young men open doors of opportunity for their future in the hockey field," Charlesworth said.

The inaugural edition of the six-team Hockey India League will be played on a home and away basis, starting mid-January, 2013 and has been granted a window by the International Hockey Federation (FIH). The 33 matches, including three play-off games, will be broadcast live on Star Sports.

© Copyright 2017 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.