NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Kookaburras World Cup team announced

Kookaburras World Cup team announced

August 02, 2006 17:58 IST

Hockey Australia announced an 18-member team for the forthcoming World Cup, in Monchengladbach, Germany, from September 6 to 17.

All the experienced players, like Jamie Dwyer, Grant Schubert, Troy Elder and Brent Livermore, are there in the team.

After disappointing showings in the Champions Trophy, where they finished fourth, and Azlan Shah tournament, where they finished second, the Olympic champions are looking forward to regaining winning ways.

The Kookaburras would like to repeat the performance of the 1986 team, which, under Richard Aggiss, defeated England, in London, for the title.

They will spend the next five weeks preparing for the World Cup with four matches against the Korean men's side, in Canberra on August 12 and 13 August, followed by two games in Rockhampton on August 16 and 18.

The 12 teams participating in the World Cup are: Australia, Argentina, Japan, New Zealand, Pakistan, Spain, England, Germany, India, South Korea, the Netherlands, and South Africa.

The team: Stephen Mowlam, Stephen Lambert, Travis Brooks, Bevan George, Aaron Hopkins, Luke Doerner, Dean Butler, Mark Knowles, Brent Livermore, Rob Hammond, Liam De Young, Michael Boyce, Troy Elder, Nathan Eglington, Jamie Dwyer, Michael McCann, Grant Schubert, Matt Naylor.