NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » FIFA 2014 World Cup: Spain, Netherlands drawn together

FIFA 2014 World Cup: Spain, Netherlands drawn together

Last updated on: December 06, 2013 23:57 IST

Host nation Brazil will kick-off next year's football World Cup against Croatia in Sao Paulo on June 12. The favourites will be happy with Group A, also containing Mexico and Cameroon, as they seek their sixth title.

Friday's complicated draw procedure went off smoothly as holders Spain and 2010 runners-up Netherlands were put together in the group stages, but have a tough task with Chile and Australia alongside them in Group B.

England, Italy and Uruguay, all former winners, were drawn together, along with Costa Rica, in Group D, with England facing Italy in the jungle city of Manaus in their opener.

Germany will come face to face with their former striker and coach Juergen Klinsmann, now in charge of the United States, with Portugal and Ghana completing the Group G line-up.

France, who qualified via the play-offs, will be pleased with a Group E, drawn alongside Ecuador, Switzerland and Honduras.

Bosnia, the only one of the 32 teams taking part in their first World Cup finals, face Argentina, Iran and Nigeria.

The final is in Rio de Janeiro on July 13.

Group A: Brazil, Croatia, Mexico, Cameroon

Group B: Spain, Netherlands, Chile, Australia

Group C: Colombia, Greece, Cote d'Ivoire, Japan 

Group D: Uruguay, Costa Rica, England, Italy

Group E: Switzerland, Ecuador, France, Honduras

Group F: Argentina, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iran, Nigeria

Group G: Germany, Portugal, Ghana, USA 

Group H: Belgium, Algeria, Russia, Korea Republic