Home > Sports > Hockey > 10th World Cup
  Sections    Past World Cups

  Past World Cups
  Slide Show
  Search Rediff

 8th World Cup, Sydney, Australia, 1994
 Venue: Homebush Stadium, November 23-December 4, 1994
Pool A  Pakistan, Australia, Spain, Argentina, England, Belarus
Pool B  Holland, West Germany, Belgium, South Korea, India,
 South Africa

This World Cup will be remembered for the emergence of South Korea, who made their debut with South Africa and Belarus.

For the second successive World Cup, India had to go through a qualifying tournament. Under new coach Cedric D'Souza, the team finished third in the tournament in Poznan, Poland, and qualified.

The Indian team was a mix of youth and experience. Led by Jude Felix, the team had youngsters like Mukesh Kumar, Anil Aldrin and Dhanraj Pillay, who was playing in his second World Cup.

India began their campaign beating Korea 2-0. But they were in for a rude shock as they slumped 2-4 to Holland. They suffered another setback, being held 2-2 by South Africa, both India's goals coming from the stick of fullback Anil Aldrin, who slammed in two penalty corners. Next they lost 1-2 to Germany, and though they beat Belgium in their concluding match, it was not enough to give them a place in the semi-finals. They finished third in the pool behind the Netherlands and Germany and had to play for the fifth to eighth positions.

Fortunately in those matches they struck late form and beat Argentina 6-3 and England 1-0 to finish 5th overall. The fifth position enabled India to qualify for the Champions Trophy in 1995 in Berlin.

In the semi-finals, the Netherlands beat Australia 3-1, while Pakistan beat Germany 6-4.

The two finalists of the 1990 World Cup thus met again in 1994. It was Pakistan's turn this time to lay their hands on the cup. They beat Holland 4-3 in the tiebreaker after the teams were locked 1-1 after extra time to triumph for the fourth time.

Shahbaz Ahmed was again voted 'Player of the Tournament'. Penalty-corner specialist Taco van den Honert of Holland was the top scorer with 11 goals.

 Final Positions
1.  Pakistan
2.  The Netherlands
3.  Australia
4.  Germany
5.  India
6.  England
7.  Argentina
8.  Korea
9.  Spain
10.  South Africa
11.  Belgium
12.  Belarus

Indian Team:
Jude Felix (captain), A. B. Subbaiah, Aloysius Edwards, Anil Aldrin, Rajneesh Mishra, K. K. Poonacha, Harpreet Singh, Shakeel Ahmed, Sandeep Somesh, Mukesh Kumar, Sabu Varkey, Dhanraj Pillay, Mohammed Riaz, Sanjeev Kumar, Gavin Ferreira, Edward Aranha
Coach: Cedric D'Souza
Manager: T Jesudhanam

 1st World Cup, 1971
 Summary | Complete Results
 2nd World Cup, 1973
 Summary | Complete Results
 3rd World Cup, 1975
 Summary | Complete Results
 4th World Cup, 1978
 Summary | Complete Results
 5th World Cup, 1982
 Summary | Complete Results
 6th World Cup, 1986
 Summary | Complete Results
 7th World Cup, 1990
 Summary | Complete Results
 8th World Cup, 1994
 Summary | Complete Results
 9th World Cup, 1998
 Summary | Complete Results

Partner Channels:
Astrology | Contests | E-cards | Money | Movies | Romance | Search | Women
Auctions | Health | Home & Decor | Tech Education | Jobs | Matrimonial | Travel
News | Cricket | Sports | NewsLinks
Shopping | Books | Music
Personal Homepages | Free Email | Free Messenger | Chat
(c) 2002 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.