Home > Sports > Hockey > 10th World Cup
  Sections    Past World Cups

  Past World Cups
  Slide Show
  Search Rediff

 7th World Cup, Lahore, Pakistan, 1990
 Venue: Gaddafi Stadium, February 12-23, 1990
Pool A  Australia, Holland, USSR, India, Argentina, France
Pool B  West Germany, Pakistan, England, Spain, Canada, Ireland

Pakistan finally had the privilege of hosting the World Cup. They were to host the inaugural edition in 1971, but security concerns in the subcontinent forced the tournament to be shifted to Barcelona, Spain.

France were back in the World Cup fold after their appearance in the inaugural edition, while Ireland returned after 12 years. For the first time, India had to qualify. The eight-time Olympic champions had to go through a qualifying tournament in New Jersey, the Inter-Continental Cup, in 1989. They emerged among the top four and made the grade.

After a poor showing in the previous World Cup, much was expected from the young Indian side led by Pargat Singh. But the inability to convert chances into goals was to prove their undoing again. The team tried out various permutations and combinations, but nothing went right. Hit-and-run hockey by the Europeans won over dribbling skills and artistry. After a 1-1 draw in their opening match, India were surprised 3-5 by Argentina. Then France beat them 2-1 and the Netherlands rubbed salt into already sore wounds with a 5-3 thrashing. India also lost to Australia and finished last in the six-team preliminary league with just a point.

In 1986, India had at least won one match out of five in its pool matches.

In the classification matches, India ended up 10th. Captain Pargat Singh's solo effort against Canada ensured that India would not finish last as in the previous World Cup.

Pakistan, meanwhile, had it easy. Though they lost 0-1 to Germany in their concluding league match after a 1-1 draw with England, they made it to the semi-finals. Germany, Australia and the Netherlands completed the semi-final line up.

In the semi-finals, Pakistan disposed of Australia 2-1, while Holland beat Germany 3-2 in extra-time to advance to the final.

The final was watched by more than 60,000 fans. But Dutch penalty-corner ace Floris Jan Bovelander dashed any hopes the home crowd may have entertained by slamming in two goals as Holland beat Pakistan 3-1. Gijs Weterings got Holland's other goal while Shahbaz Ahmed scored the lone goal for the home side. Ahmed was later voted 'Player of the Tournament'. He had scored the first hat-trick of the tournament in Pakistan's 6-3 win over Spain.

Bovelander also had the honour of registering a hat-trick in the Netherlands' 5-2 hammering of the USSR.

Spain's penalty corner specialist Igancio Escude, who scored a hat-trick against England, was the top goalscorer with 10 goals.

 Final Positions
1.  The Netherlands
2.  Pakistan
3.  Australia
4.  West Germany
5.  England
6.  USSR
7.  France
8.  Spain
9.  Argentina
10.  India
11.  Canada
12.  Ireland

Indian Team:
Pargat Singh (captain), Ashish Ballal, Mark Patterson, Ashok Kumar, B K Subramani, Vivek Singh, Sujit Kumar, Ajit Lakra, Hardeep Singh, R P Singh, Jude Felix, Jagbir Singh, Balwinder Singh, Thoiba Singh, Edgar Mascarenhas, Dhanraj Pillay
Coaches: M P Ganesh, M K Kaushik
Manager: Kumresh Sen

 1st World Cup, 1971
 Summary | Complete Results
 2nd World Cup, 1973
 Summary | Complete Results
 3rd World Cup, 1975
 Summary | Complete Results
 4th World Cup, 1978
 Summary | Complete Results
 5th World Cup, 1982
 Summary | Complete Results
 6th World Cup, 1986
 Summary | Complete Results
 7th World Cup, 1990
 Summary | Complete Results
 8th World Cup, 1994
 Summary | Complete Results
 9th World Cup, 1998
 Summary | Complete Results

Partner Channels:
Astrology | Contests | E-cards | Money | Movies | Romance | Search | Women
Auctions | Health | Home & Decor | Tech Education | Jobs | Matrimonial | Travel
News | Cricket | Sports | NewsLinks
Shopping | Books | Music
Personal Homepages | Free Email | Free Messenger | Chat
(c) 2002 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.