Home > Sports > Hockey > 10th World Cup
  Sections    Past World Cups

  Past World Cups
  Slide Show
  Search Rediff

 5th World Cup, Bombay, India, 1982
 Venue: Wankhede, BHA Stadium,
 December 29, 1981 - January 12, 1982
Pool A  Pakistan, West Germany, Spain, Argentina, Poland,
 New Zealand
Pool B  Holland, Australia, India, England, USSR, Malaysia

The World Cup returned to Asia, this time to India. It was the last time an international hockey tournament was played on grass. Twelve teams featured in this edition. The USSR were the new entrants. The tournament saw experimental rules like the hit-in and pass-back to start and restart proceedings, eliminating the bully-off, long corner, sticks and roll-in.

India started off on a rousing note, routing Malaysia 6-2, with Mervyn Fernandis scoring a brace, Rajinder Singh three and Surinder Singh Sodhi accounting for the other goal. In the very next match, however, they frittered a two-goal lead to lose 3-4 to the Netherlands.

But in the matches that followed, they put the defeat behind them and ran roughshod over the lowly USSR 7-2 and England 4-2. In their last match of the group, they were up against the Aussies. All they needed was a draw to enter the semi-finals. But they lost 1-2 and crashed out of the reckoning. India went ahead in the 37th minute through Ravinderpal Singh but the Australians rallied with goals from Craig Davies (penalty corner) and Peter Haselhurst.

The all-conquering Pakistan joined Australia, the Netherlands and Germany in the semi-finals. At Buenos Aires in the previous World Cup, Pakistan had defeated Germany in the semis and Holland in the final to emerge tops. This time they met Holland in the semi-finals, while Australia and Germany contested the other semi-final.

Pakistan went on to beat Holland 4-2, with goals from Hanif Khan, Kaleemullah, Hassan Sardar and Manzoor, Sr. Paul Litjens scored both goals for Holland. Germany beat Australia, who were unbeaten till then, 8-5 on penalties in the other semi-final after the teams were locked 3-3 at the end of extra-time.

In the final, Pakistan proved too good for West Germany, winning 3-1. Hassan Sardar, Manzoor Jr and Kaleemullah scored for Pakistan while Heiner Dopp got Germany's lone goal.

It was the second consecutive World Cup that Pakistan ended up unbeaten.

India was left to fight for the fifth to eighth positions. They beat New Zealand 3-2 and the USSR 5-1 to end up fifth. A small consolation for India was that Rajinder Singh emerged top scorer with 12 goals. The tournament is best remembered for the opportunism and goal-poaching skills of Pakistani centre forward Hassan Sardar, who scored 10 goals.

 Final Positions
1.  Pakistan
2.  West Germany
3.  Australia
4.  The Netherlands
5.  India
6.  USSR
7.  New Zealand
8.  Poland
9.  England
10.  Malaysia
11.  Spain
12.  Argentina

Indian Team:
Surjit Singh (captain), Mir Ranjan Negi, Ashok Dewan, Rajinder Singh, Vineet Kumar, M M Somaya, Ravinder Pal Singh, Onkar Singh, Gurmail Singh, M K Kaushik, Mervyn Fernandis, Surinder Singh Sodhi, Mohammed Shahid, Syed Ali, Zafar Iqbal, Charanjit Kumar
Coach: Harmeek Singh
Manager: Jhamanlal Sharma

 1st World Cup, 1971
 Summary | Complete Results
 2nd World Cup, 1973
 Summary | Complete Results
 3rd World Cup, 1975
 Summary | Complete Results
 4th World Cup, 1978
 Summary | Complete Results
 5th World Cup, 1982
 Summary | Complete Results
 6th World Cup, 1986
 Summary | Complete Results
 7th World Cup, 1990
 Summary | Complete Results
 8th World Cup, 1994
 Summary | Complete Results
 9th World Cup, 1998
 Summary | Complete Results

Partner Channels:
Astrology | Contests | E-cards | Money | Movies | Romance | Search | Women
Auctions | Health | Home & Decor | Tech Education | Jobs | Matrimonial | Travel
News | Cricket | Sports | NewsLinks
Shopping | Books | Music
Personal Homepages | Free Email | Free Messenger | Chat
(c) 2002 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.