Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:

Home > India > Sports > Formula One > Reuters > Report

Race wins to decide F1 title

March 17, 2009 22:49 IST

This year's Formula One title will go to the driver who wins the most races rather than the most points, the sport's governing body said on Tuesday.

The International Automobile Federation (FIA) said in a statement that its world motor sport council had rejected a proposal by the teams to change the scoring system to reward race winners.

Instead the council has accepted a proposal from Formula One Management to award the drivers' championship to the driver who has won the most races during the season.

"If two or more drivers finish the season with the same number of wins, the title will be awarded to the driver with the most points," the FIA said.

The allocation of points will remain the same as last year's 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 sequence.

The rest of the standings, from second to last place, will also be decided by the current points system with the constructors' championship unaffected.

The FIA ruled out awarding Olympic-style medals, as advocated by Formula One's commercial supremo Bernie Ecclestone who had wanted the title to go to the driver with the most golds.

McLaren's [Images] Lewis Hamilton [Images] won last year's title despite winning fewer races than Ferrari's [Images] Felipe Massa [Images].

© Copyright 2009 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.
Formula One: The Complete Coverage

   Discuss   |      Share with friends   |      Print   |   Ask a question  Ask a question   |  Get latest news on your desktop  Get latest news on your desktop