Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > India > Sports > Football > Reuters > Report

English clubs to benefit despite no national team at Euro 2008

May 30, 2008 18:14 IST

English clubs will profit from Euro 2008 [Images] despite the failure of the national team to qualify for the finals.

The squad lists released for the June 7-29 tournament show 44 English-based players from 14 countries will be taking part in the 16-team event.

Each of the 17 English sides sending players to Euro 2008 will receive compensation of approximately 4,000 euros ($6,237) per player per day for as long as he remains in the finals.

Only German clubs, with 57 representatives, will have more players involved.

The financial deal was announced by governing bodies FIFA and UEFA [Images] in January in recognition of the contribution made by clubs to international tournaments.

Arsenal [Images] and Chelsea are the most represented English sides at Euro 2008, with seven players each.

Liverpool will send six players, including four Spaniards, while European champions Manchester United [Images] will have five representatives including Portuguese duo Cristiano Ronaldo [Images] and Nani.


Spanish and Italian clubs will provide 41 and 36 players respectively, meaning nearly half the 368 participating are based in four countries.

Clubs from Russia [Images] (29), France [Images] (24) and Greece (22) will also be strongly represented.

French champions Olympique Lyon and Greek side Panathinaikos are the clubs with the most representatives at Euro 2008, each sending 10 players.

German champions Bayern Munich will have nine players, as will Turkish counterparts Galatasaray.

Number of Euro 2008 players by club location:

Germany [Images] 57, England [Images] 44, Spain 41, Italy [Images] 36, Russia 29, France 24, Greece 22, Turkey 17, Austria 16, Portugal 13, Romania 13, Netherlands 10, Poland 9, Switzerland [Images] 8, Sweden 7, Belgium 4, Scotland 4, Czech Repupblic 3, Denmark 3, Ukraine 3, Croatia 2, Norway 2, Bulgaria 1.

© Copyright 2008 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.