Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > Sports > Hockey > Report

Diwakar Ram top scorer in Malaysia

January 30, 2008 21:21 IST

Australia won the Under-21 Eight-Nation Invitational hockey tournament after beating India 3-2 in an epic final at the National Hockey Stadium in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday.

India took an early lead through penalty-corner ace Diwakar Ram in 14th minute but the Aussies drew abreast in the 44th minute through Aaron Kleinschmidt's field goal.

Kleinschmit scored another field goal in the 52nd minute to put Australia ahead.

But Mandeep Antil leveled the score in the 66th minute.

It was a keen tussle thereafter but the Aussies clinched the issue when Matthew Butturini found the mark in the 72nd minute.

Martin Haner of Germany [Images] was named the 'Player of the tournament' while Diwakar Ram emerged the top scorer with ten goals.

Laurens Goedegebuure of the Netherlands was adjudged best Goalkeeper and Aaron Kleinschmit man-of-the match in the final.

Germany beat the Netherlands 3-1 for third place.

Germany's goals were scored by Felix Oldhafer (FG, 1st minute), Patrick Schmidt (FG, 15th) and Benedikt Furk (FG, 49th). Caspers Quinjin scored the consolation goal for Holland in the 66th minute.

Pakistan took fifth place after whipping New Zealand [Images] 8-3.

Malaysia earned their first win of the tournament when they edged South Korea 2-1 in extra-time for seventh place. Malaysia had suffered suffered six defeats and a draw before this victory.