Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333

Home > India > Sports > Olympics 2008 > Report

   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

India's Olympic medal winners

August 11, 2008 12:36 IST

Abhinav Bindra [Images] gave India its first individual Olympic gold medal, and ninth overall, when he won the 10 metres air rifle event at the Beijing [Images] Olympics [Images] on Monday morning.

Before his feat India had won eight gold medals in hockey, six of them at successive Games, three silver medals (two in athletics and one in hockey) and five bronze medals from the Olympics.

On Monday, Bindra was fourth after qualifying but had a brilliant final round and even hit a near perfect 10.8 on his last visit to pull in front of Henri Hakkinen of Finland, who dropped to bronze with a poor final shot of 9.7.

A look at India's medal winners at the Olympics:

MedalName Olympics Sport Event
SilverNorman Pritchard1900 ParisAthleticsMen's 200 metres
SilverNorman Pritchard1900 ParisAthleticsMen's 200 metres hurdles
GoldNational team1928 AmsterdamField hockeyMen's competition
GoldNational team1932 Los AngelesField hockeyMen's competition
GoldNational team1936 BerlinField hockeyMen's competition
GoldNational team1948 London [Images]Field hockeyMen's competition
GoldNational team1952 HelsinkiField hockeyMen's competition
BronzeKhashaba Dadasaheb Jadhav1952 HelsinkiWrestlingMen's freestyle bantamweight
GoldNational team1956 MelbourneField hockeyMen's competition
SilverNational team1960 RomeField hockeyMen's competition
GoldNational team1964 TokyoField hockeyMen's competition
BronzeNational team1968 MexicoField hockeyMen's competition
BronzeNational team1972 MunichField hockeyMen's competition
GoldNational team1980 Moscow [Images]Field hockeyMen's competition
BronzeLeander Paes [Images]1996 AtlantaTennisMen's singles
BronzeKarnam Malleswari2000 SydneyWeightliftingWomen's 69 kg
SilverRajyavardhan Singh Rathore [Images]2004 AthensShootingMen's double trap
GoldAbhinav Bindra2008 BeijingShootingMen's 10m Air Rifle

  • Complete coverage: Beijing 2008 Olympic Games
       Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

  • Advertisement