Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > Sports > Formula One > Reuters > Report

Raikkonen on pole for European Grand Prix

July 21, 2007 20:37 IST

Ferrari's [Images] Kimi Raikkonen [Images] took pole position for the European Grand Prix on Saturday in a qualifying session overshadowed by McLaren's championship leader Lewis Hamilton [Images] crashing heavily.

McLaren's double world champion Fernando Alonso [Images] will join the Finn on the front row with Brazilian Felipe Massa [Images] qualifying third for Ferrari.

Hamilton, 12 points clear of Alonso after nine successive podium finishes, forced a half hour halt to qualifying when his car ploughed into the tyre wall after leaving the track at around 260kph.

The Briton waved and gave a thumbs up sign as he was carried away on a stretcher, with an oxygen mask over his face and a drip inserted.

The team, who blamed a faulty air gun for the wheel working loose, said he was unhurt but would remain under observation for a few hours with his participation in the race uncertain.

If he does start, it will be from 10th place -- his lowest position of the season.

When the session resumed, there were just five minutes remaining for drivers to get in a quick lap and decide pole position. 

It was Raikkonen who made the most of the opportunity, lapping in 1:31.450 for the 13th pole of his career and second of the season.

It also left the Finn perfectly placed for his third win in a row after victories in France [Images] and Britain this month.

Raikkonen is third overall, 18 points behind Hamilton.

BMW [Images] Sauber's Nick Heidfeld, whose wife gave birth to a son in the early hours of Saturday morning, qualified fourth before flying to Switzerland [Images] to be with his family, with Polish team mate Robert Kubica fifth.

Provisional qualifying result:

 1. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari one min 31.450 secs

 2. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 1:31.741

3. Felipe Massa (Brazil [Images]) Ferrari 1:31.778

 4. Nick Heidfeld (Germany [Images]) BMW Sauber 1:31.840

 5. Robert Kubica (Poland) BMW Sauber 1:32.123

 6. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault 1:32.476

 7. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Renault 1:32.478

 8. Jarno Trulli (Italy [Images]) Toyota 1:32.501

 9. Ralf Schumacher (Germany) Toyota 1:32.570

 10. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:33.833

 11. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams - Toyota 1:31.978

 12. Alexander Wurz (Austria) Williams - Toyota 1:31.996

 13. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Renault 1:32.010

 14. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda 1:32.221

 15. Anthony Davidson (Britain) Super Aguri - Honda 1:32.451

 16. Takuma Sato (Japan [Images]) Super Aguri - Honda 1:32.838

 17. Jenson Button [Images] (Britain) Honda 1:32.983

 18. Scott Speed (U.S.) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1:33.038

 19. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1:33.148

 20. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull - Renault 1:33.151

 21. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Spyker - Ferrari 1:34.500

 22. Markus Winkelhock (Germany) Spyker - Ferrari 1:35.940

© Copyright 2007 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.
Formula One: The Complete Coverage