Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > Sports > Hockey > PTI > Report

Bollywood stars for hockey exhibition match

August 21, 2007 18:11 IST

Aiming to cash in on the success of the Shah Rukh [Images] Khan-starrer Chak De India, the Indian Hockey Federation is organising two exhibition matches, featuring top players from India and Pakistan and a host of film and television artists, in Chandigarh on September 11.

One match, a 60-minute affair, will be played between the national teams of India and Pakistan and the other, with duration of 30 minutes, will be between the glam stars and former hockey players from both the countries.

Besides, a penalty shoot-out involving some of the leading actors would be held in the event, to be played for AHA Glorious Cup.

Bollywood star Suniel Shetty [Images], who has been roped in as brand ambassador of the IHF, and Tanya, who played the role of Balbir Kaur in Chak De India, will be among the actors to grace the occasion.

The event, organised by Indian Hockey federation, is being promoted by Air Hostess Academy and Bollywood star Shetty's Popcorn Entertainment.

IHF president K P S Gill said the event is being organised to revive hockey popularity.

"Hockey needs the right image, mileage and support to revive the interest of the budding sportspeople as well as the common masses. The AHA Glorious Cup will help restore national pride in the game, with which we Indians were once obsessed," he said in a statement.

"It will also pay glorious tributes to Major Dhyan Chand, one of the greatest sportsmen India has ever produced," he added.

Indian team for AHA Gloriour Cup:

Goalkeepers: Baljit Singh, Adrian D'Souza

Defenders: Dilip Tirkey, William Xalxo, V R Raghunath, Jaswinder Singh.

Midfielders: Gurbaj Singh, Bimal Lakra, Sardar Singh, Prabodh Tirkey (capt), Ignace Tirkey, Vickram Kanth.

Forwards: Rajpal Singh, Prabhot Singh, Tushar Khandekar, Roshan Minz, Shivendra Singh, S V Sunil

Standbys: Bharat Chetri, Sandeep Singh, Ajitesh Rai, V S Vinaya, Damandeep Singh, Birendra Lakra, Sanwar Ali, Mayur Subbaiah.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.