Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > Sports > Formula One > Reuters > Report

Alonso on pole in Hungary

August 04, 2007 19:34 IST

Double world champion Fernando Alonso [Images] seized pole position from McLaren team mate Lewis Hamilton [Images] at the Hungarian Grand Prix on Saturday.

Hamilton, who leads the Spaniard by two points with seven races remaining, completed an all-McLaren front row at a circuit where overtaking is extremely difficult.

The 22-year-old British rookie was fastest until the Spaniard pipped him by 0.107 seconds with his final lap of the session in the dying seconds.

Hamilton was unable to reply after being forced to wait behind Alonso at their final stop, leaving him too little time for a final flying lap.

Germany's [Images] Nick Heidfeld qualified third for BMW [Images] Sauber with Ferrari's [Images] Kimi Raikkonen [Images] fourth.

Ferrari's Brazilian Felipe Massa [Images], third in the championship and 11 points adrift of Hamilton, will start 14th after a troubled session.

Starting Grid:

1. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren
2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren
3. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber
4. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari
5. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams - Toyota
6. Ralf Schumacher (Germany) Toyota
7. Robert Kubica (Poland) BMW Sauber
8. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy [Images]) Renault
9. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota
10. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault
11. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull - Renault
12. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Renault
13. Alexander Wurz (Austria) Williams - Toyota
14. Felipe Massa (Brazil [Images]) Ferrari
15. Anthony Davidson (Britain) Super Aguri - Honda
16. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Toro Rosso - Ferrari
17. Jenson Button [Images] (Britain) Honda
18. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda
19. Takuma Sato (Japan [Images]) Super Aguri - Honda
20. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Toro Rosso - Ferrari
21. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Spyker - Ferrari
22. Sakon Yamamoto (Japan) Spyker � Ferrari

Briton Jenson Button, who took an emotional first grand prix win from 14th place in a wet race in Hungary last year, qualified his Honda a disappointing 17th.

© Copyright 2007 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.
Formula One: The Complete Coverage