Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > Sports > Hockey > PTI > Report

Indian Oil win Shastri hockey

October 08, 2006 19:00 IST

Indian Oil defeated Bharat Petroleum through tie-breaker (5-3) to emerge champions at the 17th Lal Bahadur Shastri hockey tournament in New Delhi on Sunday.

Amar Aiyamma shot home in the 29th minute to help Bharat Petroleum go into the lemon break with a 1-0 lead.

However, Indian Oil's Diwakar Ram converted a penalty corner in the 62nd minute to level the scores and set the stage for a nail-biting finish.

As the winners could not be decided during the regulation time, extra-time came into force. But even then the scoreline did not change.

In the tie-breaker, Ravi Naiker of BPCL missed a shot to allow Indian Oil lift the title.

Bikramjit Singh, Diwakar Ram, Bharat Sikara, Didar Singh and Deepak Thakur of Indian Oil were the successful scorers in the tie-breaker while BPCL's honour was guarded by Deepak, Irshad Ali and Ajay Saroha.

Bharat Sikara was adjudged the player of the tournament.

© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 1

Sub: Indian Oil win Shastri hockey !


Posted by Dr. Cajetan Coelho



Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.