Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > Sports > Formula One > Reuters > Report

Schumacher wins Chinese Grand Prix

October 01, 2006 13:59 IST

Ferrari's Michael Schumacher won the Chinese Grand Prix on Sunday to move level on points with Renault's Fernando Alonso in the world championship with two races remaining in the season.

Spanish world champion Alonso, who started from pole, took second place from his Italian team mate Giancarlo Fisichella eight laps from the end but will stand second in the championship standings as Schumacher has one more race win.

Schumacher started sixth on the grid but aggressive driving and shrewd tactics left him in a position to snatch the lead from Fisichella when the Italian went wide at the first corner after his second pit stop.

The 37-year-old German's seventh victory of the season -- the 91st of his career -- gave him the championship lead for the first time since he ended the 2004 season with his seventh world title.

Race Classification:

1. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Ferrari 1:37:32.747

2. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault +00:03.121

 3. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Renault 00:44.197

 4. Jenson Button (Britain) Honda 01:12.056

 5. Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) McLaren 01:17.137

 6. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda 01:19.131

 7. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber 01:31.979

 8. Mark Webber (Australia) Williams - Cosworth 01:43.588

 9. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull - Ferrari 01:43.796

 10. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Toro Rosso - Cosworth 1 lap

 11. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams - Cosworth 1 lap

 12. Robert Doornbos (Netherlands) RedBull - Ferrari 1 lap

 13. Robert Kubica (Poland) BMW Sauber 1 lap

 14. Takuma Sato (Japan) Super Aguri - Honda 1 lap

 15. Scott Speed (U.S.) Toro Rosso - Cosworth 1 lap

 16. Christijan Albers (Netherlands) MF1 - Toyota 3 laps

 17. Sakon Yamamoto (Japan) Super Aguri - Honda 4 laps

 r. Ralf Schumacher (Germany) Toyota 7 laps

 r. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 11 laps

 r. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 17 laps

 r. Tiago Monteiro (Portugal) MF1 - Toyota 17 laps

 r. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) McLaren 38 laps

(rank: r = retired, nc = not classified)

 Fastest Lap: Fernando Alonso, 1:37.586, lap 50.

© Copyright 2006 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.
Formula One: The Complete Coverage

Share your comments


Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.