Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > Sports > Hockey > PTI > Report

Dilip Tirkey in hockey All-Star team

November 01, 2006 20:08 IST

India's captain Dilip Tirkey has been selected in the World hockey All-Star team 2006.

"Only the best players of the world are selected for the All-Star teams (men and women). This has been created for the first time and 18 players and two coaches have been selected for each team," the International Hockey Federation said in a statement on Wednesday.

"Journalists present at the men's and women's World Cup tournaments, held in Germany and Spain respectively, and visitors to the FIH web site voted for their favourite players.

The FIH said it decided the teams after counting hundreds of votes.

All-Star teams:


Goalkeepers: Stephen Mowlam (Australia) and Ulrich Bubloz (Germany)

Forwards: Jamie Dwyer (Australia), Santiago Freixa (Spain), Christopher Zeller (Germany), Pol Amat (Spain), Shakeel Abbasi (Pakistan).

Midfield: Teun De Nooijer (the Netherlands), Brent Livermore (Australia), Yong Bee Kim (Korea), Jeroen Delmee (the Netherlands) and Tibor Weissenborn (Germany).

Defenders: Taeke Taekema (the Netherlands), Philipp Crone (Germany), Bevan George (Australia), Hayden Shaw (New Zealand), Richard Mantell (England), Dilip Tirkey (India).

Coaches: Barry Dancer (Australia) and Bernhard Peters (Germany).


Goalkeepers: Amy Tran (United States) and Maria Jesus Rosa Duran (Spain)

Forwards: Nikki Hudson (Australia), Bao Rong Fu (China), Sylvia Karres (the Netherlands), Natascha Keller (Germany), Kaori Chiba (Japan).

Midfielders: Luciana Aymar (Argentina), Mi Hyun Park (Korea), Silvia Munoz Escude (Spain), Fanny Rinne (Germany), Miek Van Geenhuizen (the Netherlands)

Defenders: Minke Booij (the Netherlands), Magdalena Aicega (Argentina), Akem Kato (Japan), Angie Skirving (Australia), Christa Cullen (England), Janneke Schopman (the Netherlands).

Coaches: Marc Lammers (the Netherlands) and Frank Murray (Australia).

© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 2

Sub: Dilip Tirkey in hockey All-Star team !

Congratulations to the world renowned Indian defender. Best wishes to all the hockey stars. May they continue to shine and inspire many more youngsters in ...

Posted by Dr.Cajetan Coelho

Sub: World class

So this is how the Indian hockey team stacks up .. just one world class defender .. keep the spirit up

Posted by vaempuli



Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.