Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > Sports > Hockey > Report

Rasquinha, Adrian back in reckoning

May 03, 2006 15:13 IST

Viren Rasquinha and goal-keeper Adrian D'Souza are back in reckoning for a place in the Indian hockey squad for Azlan Shah Cup at Kuala Lumpur between June 18-25.

Rasquinha was left out of the team that played the four-nation tournament in Germany last month, while D'Souza was nursing a hamstring injury. The Indian Hockey Federation named 32 probables who've began fitness training at the Sports Authority of India centre in Bangalore since Monday.

The squad will continue training in Bangalore till the 17th of this month after which they'll shift base to Chennai for a coaching camp.

India will open their campaign in the tournament against defending champions Australia on June 18.

The Asian Games silver medallists will then take on the hosts Malaysia the following day and face South Korea, the fourth team in Group 'A', on June 21, according to information received here.

Group 'B' comprises three-time champions Pakistan, Holland, Argentina and New Zealand in the eight-nation tournament which will conclude on June 25.

For the first time since its inception in 1983, the tournament will hold matches in the morning and all the matches will be scheduled in such a way as to avoid clash in timing with World Cup Football Tournament in Germany.

The 15th edition will see the return of Holland which, last appeared in 1996, while Pan-American champions Argentina will make their debut in the tournament.

Goalkeepers: Bharat Chetri, Baljit Singh, Adrian D'Souza;

Defenders: Dilip Tirkey, Kanwalpreet Singh, Sandeep Singh, Jugraj Singh, Harpal Singh, William Xalxo;

Mid-fielders: Prabodh Tirkey, Ajmer Singh, Vikram Pillay, Ignace Tirkey, VS Vinay, Bimal Lakra, Sunil Ekka, Nitin Kumar, Viren Rasquinha;

Forwards: Gagan Ajit Singh, Rajpal Singh, Tushar Khandekar, Arjun Halappa, Adam Sinclair, Shivendra Singh, Birender Lakra, Hari Prasad, Gurvinder Singh, Sardar Singh, Didar Singh, Deepak Thakur, Prabhjot Singh, Tejbir Singh.

Fixtures: June 18: Argentina VS New Zealand; Australia VS India; South Korea VS Malaysia June 19: Holland VS Pakistan; South Korea VS Australia India VS Malaysia June 20: Holland VS Argentina; Pakistan VS New Zealand June 21: India VS South Korea; Australia VS Malaysia June 22: Pakistan VS Argentina; Holland VS New Zealand June 23: Semifinals June 24: 7th/8th and 5th/6th place playoff June 25: Final match and 3rd/4th place playoff

Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.