Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > Sports > Hockey > Report

Men's Champions Trophy in Lahore

January 25, 2006 11:33 IST

Argentina and Pakistan will host the prestigious 2007 Champions Trophy hockey tournaments.

International Hockey Federation (FIH) awarded Argentina the 15th women's Champions Trophy, which will be held in Mar del Plata in January 2007. The exact dates will be confirmed later.

It will be the second time that Mar del Plata, and the third time that Argentina overall, will stage the women's Champions Trophy.

Pakistan will host the 29th men's tournament in Lahore from December 1-9, 2007.

Lahore is the spiritual home of the Champions Trophy, having hosted the first edition of the tournament in 1978.

It will be the sixth time that Lahore will host the tournament and 12th tournament contested in Pakistan. Each of Pakistan's three Champions Trophy titles have been won at home.

The composition of each 2007 Champions Trophy tournament will be:

- 2004 Olympic Games champion (Germany -- women, Australia -- men)

- 2006 World Cup champion

- 2006 Champions Trophy champion

- Host country (Argentina -- women, Pakistan -- men)

- Additional countries based on placings at the 2006 World Cup

The final list of competitors at each Champions Trophy tournament will not be determined until after the men's BDO Hockey World Cup (Monchengladbach, Germany, 6-17 September) and the women's Samsung Hockey World Cup (Madrid, Spain, 27 September-8 October).

Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.