Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > Sports > Hockey > Report

Maratha Warriors defeat Hyderabad Sultans

January 22, 2006 23:23 IST
Last Updated: January 23, 2006 13:06 IST

Maratha Warriors pipped Hyderabad Sultans 4-1 via the tie-breaker to snatchtwo points from theirPremier Hockey League match in Chandigarh on Sunday night.

With both teams scoring a goal each in regulation time, the match was pushed into extra-time, which also failed to yield a result, forcingthe shoot-out.

Vikram Pillay, Jorge Lombi and Johnson Ekka failed to score for the Sultans, while Gurusevak Singh, Shivender Singh and Dhanajay Mahadik converted their 'strokes' for the Warriors.

Earlier, in regulation time, Warriors employed tight man-to-man marking, denying space to rival midfielders Sardar Singh and Vikram Pillay. They also cut off the passes to Sultans' forwards Lombi and Shakeel Abbasi and waited for their turnovers to attack from the middle.

After a goalless first-half, where Sultans failed to convert four penalty-corners, Warriors took the lead in the 38th minute through their first penalty-corner,Imran Warsi sending a fierce drag-flick into the net that beat rival custodian Salman Akbar.

Also Read

Orissa Steelers win Division I PHL

However, Sultans forcedthe match into extra-time with an equaliser in the 56th minute. It was Lazarus Barla who initiated the move and sent a long ball to Sardar Singh on the right flank.

Sardar relayed a square pass to Devinderpal Singh, who shot into the circle, where a diving Nitin Kumar slapped the ballinto the goal only forWilliam Xalco to bring off a goaline save.

But Xalco'sclearancetravelledto an unmarked Didar Singh at the top of the circle. He undercut the ball into the net, leavingWarriors' custodian Adrian D'Souza helpless.

Thereafter both teams tried hard for the match-winner but without success.

Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.