Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > Sports > Hockey > Report

Premier Hockey League ready to roll

January 04, 2006 20:35 IST

Fourteen leading foreign players, including Mohammad Saqlain, Rehan Butt and Balder Bomans, will be seen in action in the second edition of the Premier Hockey League, starting in Chandigarh on Thursday.

For the first time in the history of the game the services of a third umpire will be utilized in the tournament, which will have a best-of-three final.

Defending champions Hyderabad Sultans and Maratha Warriors hit-off the month-long extravaganza.

While Hyderabad Sultans is led by Indian hockey stalwart Dilip Tirkey, spirited midfielder Viren Rasquinha is captain of Maratha Warriors.

The other three teams in the premier division also look good enough to offer a tough challenge.

Sher-e-Jalandhar, the side that lost to Sultans in the final last year, is led by star striker Gagan Ajit Singh.

The Arjun Halappa-led Bangalore Lions also should be a tough nut to crack.

Led by Rajpal Singh, local flavour Chandigarh Dynamos could be the team to watch out for as it boasts of names like Balder Bomans (The Netherlands) and Mudassar Ali Khan (Pakistan).

Of the foreign players, eight are from Pakistan, two each from The Netherlands and Spain, and one each from Argentina and New Zealand.

Among the Pakistani players, Salman Akbar and Shakeel Abbasi will play for Hyderabad Sultans, The other Pakistanis are Rehan Butt (Bangalore Lions), Mohammad Saqlain (Sher-e-Jalandhar), Adnan Zakir and Imran Warsi (Maratha Warriors) and Imran Khan and Mudassar Ali Khan (Chandigarh Dynamos).

The Netherlands' Balder Bomans will play for Chandigarh Dynamos and Lodewijk de Bruijn for Maratha Warriors.

While Jordi Quintana of Spain will play for Bangalore Lions, compatriot Pau Quemada will play for Sher-e-Jalandhar.

Argentina's Jorge Lombi will turn out for Hyderabad Sultans and New Zealand's Bevan Hari will be represent Sher-e-Jalandhar



Week 1:
Jan 5: Maratha Warriors vs Hyderabad Sultans 19:00 IST
Jan 6: Hyderabad Sultans vs Bangalore Lions 19:00
Jan 7: Sher-E-Jalandhar vs Maratha Warriors 19:00
Jan 8: Chandigarh Dynamos vs Sher-E-Jalandhar 19:00

Week 2:
Jan 12: Sher-E-Jalandhar vs Hyderabad Sultans 19:00
Jan 13: Maratha Warriors vs Chandigarh Dynamos 19:00
Jan 14: Bangalore Lions vs Sher-E-Jalandhar 19:00
Jan 15: Chandigarh Dynamos vs Bangalore Lions 19:00

Week 3:
Jan 19: Bangalore Lions vs Maratha Warriors 19:00
Jan 20: Hyd Sultans vs Chandigarh Dynamos 19:00
Jan 21: Sher-E-Jalandhar vs Chandigarh Dynamos 19:00
Jan 22: Hyd Sultans vs Maratha Warriors 19:00

Week 4:
Jan 23: Bangalore Lions vs Chandigarh Dynamos 19:00
Jan 24: Hyd Sultans vs Sher-E-Jalandhar 19:00
Jan 25: Maratha Warriors vs Bangalore Lions 19:00
Jan 26: Chandigarh Dynamos vs Hyd Sultans 17:00
Jan 26: Maratha Warriors vs Sher-E-Jalandhar 19:00
Jan 27: Bangalore Lions vs Hyd Sultans 19:00
Jan 28: Chandigarh Dynamos vs Maratha Warriors 19:00
Jan 29: Sher-E-Jalandhar vs Bangalore Lions 19:00

Week 5: (Finals)
Jan 30: Team P1 vs Team P2 19:00
Jan 31: Team P2 vs Team P1 19:00
Feb 01: Team P1 vs Team P2 19:00

Note: Top two teamsqualify for a best-of-three final after the round-robin league.


Week 1:
Jan 5Delhi Dazzlersvs Orissa Steelers 14:05
Jan 6Chennai Veeransvs Lucknow Nawabs 14:05
Jan 7Imphal Rangersvs Delhi Dazzlers 14:05
Jan 8Lucknow Nawabsvs Imphal Rangers 11:30
Jan 8Orissa SteelersChennai Veerans 14:05

Week 2:
Jan 11Imphal Rangers vs Chennai Veerans 11:30
Jan 11 Orissa Steelersvs Lucknow Nawabs 14:05
Jan 12 Lucknow Nawabsvs Delhi Dazzlers 11:30
Jan 12Chennai Veeransvs Orissa Steelers 14:05
Jan 13 Orissa Steelersvs Imphal Rangers 11:30
Jan 13Delhi Dazzlersvs Chennai Veerans 14:05
Jan 14Lucknow Nawabsvs Chennai Veerans 14:05
Jan 15 Imphal Rangersvs Lucknow Nawabs 11:30
Jan 15Orissa Steelersvs Delhi Dazzlers 14:05

Week 3:
Jan 18Chennai Veeransvs Imphal Rangers 11:30
Jan 18 Lucknow Nawabsvs Orissa Steelers 14:05
Jan 19Chennai Veeransvs Delhi Dazzlers 14:05
Jan 20Delhi Dazzlersvs Imphal Rangers 14:05
Jan 21Delhi Dazzlersvs Lucknow Nawabs 14:05
Jan 22Imphal Rangersvs Orissa Steelers 14:05

Note: The winner will be decided on theperformance in the round-robin league.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 1

Sub: Premier Hockey League !

Or best wishes to all the teams. We look forward to top class hockey from the galaxy of hockey stars who will be on view. ...

Posted by Dr.Cajetan Coelho



Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.