Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > Sports > Formula One > Reuters > Report

Raikkonen on pole in Hungary

August 05, 2006 19:49 IST

McLaren's Kimi Raikkonen snatched pole position at the Hungarian Grand Prix on Saturday as title contenders Fernando Alonso and Michael Schumacher were pushed out of the top 10.

Raikkonen, last year's winner in Hungary, seized his second pole in a row in the final seconds to dash Brazilian Felipe Massa's hopes of starting at the front for the first time in his Ferrari.

Brazilian Rubens Barrichello was third for Honda and Spaniard Pedro de la Rosa fourth in a McLaren.

Renault's world champion Alonso and Ferrari's Schumacher failed to make the final cut after both went into the knockout qualifying with two second penalties to be added to their fastest laps.

Ferrari's seven times champion Schumacher will start 11th, because Honda's Jenson Button who clocked the fourth best time picked up a 10 place penalty for an engine change.

Spaniard Alonso lines up behind in 15th place at a circuit where overtaking is a real challenge.

Alonso leads Schumacher by 11 points with six races remaining.

Schumacher was penalised for overtaking two cars under a red flag in Saturday's final free practice while Alonso picked up his sanction for dangerous driving and ignoring a yellow flag on Friday.

Without the time penalties, both would have been challenging for pole in the final session.

Sunday's starting grid

1. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) McLaren 1:19.599
2. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1:19.886
3. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda 1:20.085
4. Jenson Button (Britain) Honda 1:20.092
5. Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) McLaren 1:20.117
6. Mark Webber (Australia) Williams - Cosworth 1:20.266
7. Ralf Schumacher (Germany) Toyota 1:20.759
8. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Renault 1:20.924
9. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 1:21.132
10. Robert Kubica (Poland) BMW Sauber 1:22.049
11. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber 1:20.623
12. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Ferrari 1:20.875
13. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull - Ferrari 1:20.890
14. Christian Klien (Austria) RedBull - Ferrari 1:21.207
15. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault 1:21.364
16. Tiago Monteiro (Portugal) MF1 - Toyota 1:23.767
17. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Toro Rosso - Cosworth 1:22.068
18. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams - Cosworth 1:22.084
19. Scott Speed (U.S.) Toro Rosso - Cosworth 1:22.317
20. Takuma Sato (Japan) Super Aguri - Honda 1:22.967
21. Christijan Albers (Netherlands) MF1 - Toyota 1:23.146
22. Sakon Yamamoto (Japan) Super Aguri - Honda 1:24.016

© Copyright 2006 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.
Formula One: The Complete Coverage

Share your comments


Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.