The Web


 Latest Sports news on mobile: sms SPRT to 7333

Home > Sports > Hockey > PTI > Report

Mumbai upset Universities

June 29, 2005 21:05 IST

Goals by Paulina Surin and Sadhna Singh enabled Mumbai upset last edition's runners-up Indian Universities 2-0 in the National women's hockey championship in Delhi on Wednesday.

The Mumbai women, who finished fourth in Lucknow in 2003, were a little rusty to begin with but put pressure on their opponents with an early goal.

The University side began in an attacking mode but missed a golden chance in the sixth minute before conceding the first goal when Paulina made full use of a superb pass from Nishi Chauhan in the ninth minute.

The goal saw the Mumbai girls gain in confidence as they came up with more threatening forays. But the scoreboard stayed 1-0 at half-time.

After the break, the Mumbai forwards again troubled the University defence but messed up several chances including nine penalty-corners.

Mumbai's second goal came in the 52nd minute through Sadhna Singh.

Mumbai now take on Chhattisgarh on Friday.

In another key match of the day, Sarvjeet and Jasjeet Kaur scored hat-tricks to help Haryana, bronze medal winners in 2003, thrash Air India 12-0.

This was Haryana's second straight win in Pool A after hammering Karnataka 15-0 on Tuesday.

Both Sarvjeet, who began the rout with a goal in the very first minute, and Jasjeet Kaur scored four goals each with the other goals coming from Kamla Cheema (2) and Kanu Priya (2).

At half-time, Haryana were leading 5-0.

Delhi beat PEPSU (Patiala and East Punjab State Union) 2-1 while defending champions Railways made full use of a porous Kerala defence to win 14-0.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!
© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.