The Web


 Latest Sports news on mobile: sms SPRT to 7333

Home > Sports > Formula One > Reuters > Report

Alonso on pole for British Grand Prix

July 09, 2005 19:24 IST

Renault's championship leader Fernando Alonso will start Sunday's British Grand Prix on pole position.

The 23-year-old Spaniard, winner of five of the season's 10 Grands Prix so far, was joined on the front row of the grid by Briton Jenson Button in a BAR.

McLaren's Kimi Raikkonen set the second fastest time but will start 12th after his engine blew in practice on Saturday and had to be changed, incurring an automatic 10-place penalty.

It was Alonso's fourth pole of the season and second in a row after France last weekend. The Spaniard, who leads Raikkonen by 24 points in the Formula One standings with nine races remaining, led that race from start to finish.

Colombian Juan Pablo Montoya, in a McLaren, and Italian Jarno Trulli for Toyota filled the second row.

Ferrari's seven times world champion Michael Schumacher, winner at Silverstone last year, qualified a disappointing ninth.

Qualifying Result:

.  Fernando Alonso (Spain)          Renault   1:19.905
  2.  Kimi Raikkonen (Finland)         McLaren   1:19.932
  3.  Jenson Button (Britain)          BAR       1:20.207
  4.  Juan Pablo Montoya (Colombia)    McLaren   1:20.382
  5.  Jarno Trulli (Italy)             Toyota    1:20.459
  6.  Rubens Barrichello (Brazil)      Ferrari   1:20.906
  7.  Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy)     Renault   1:21.010
  8.  Takuma Sato (Japan)              BAR       1:21.114
  9.  Ralf Schumacher (Germany)        Toyota    1:21.191
 10.  Michael Schumacher (Germany)     Ferrari   1:21.275
 11.  Jacques Villeneuve (Canada)      Sauber    1:21.352
 12.  Mark Webber (Australia)          Williams  1:21.997
 13.  David Coulthard (Britain)        Red Bull  1:22.108
 14.  Nick Heidfeld (Germany)          Williams  1:22.117
 15.  Christian Klien (Austria)        Red Bull  1:22.207
 16.  Felipe Massa (Brazil)            Sauber    1:22.495
 17.  Narain Karthikeyan (India)       Jordan    1:23.583
 18.  Christijan Albers (Netherlands)  Minardi   1:24.576
 19.  Patrick Friesacher (Austria)     Minardi   1:25.566
 20.  Tiago Monteiro (Portugal)        Jordan     


7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!
© Copyright 2005 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.
Formula One: The Complete Coverage

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.