Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > Sports > Hockey > PTI > Report

Dynamos lift title in Tier II

January 30, 2005 20:33 IST

Chandigarh Dynamos lifted the title in Tier II defeating Delhi Dazzlers 4-3 in sudden death in their last league match of the Premier Hockey League at the Gachibowli Stadium in Hyderabad on Sunday.

Chandigarh won all their eight matches to finish with 23 points and annex the trophy. The title win earned them a prize money of Rs four lakh. Delhi finished at the second spot with 19 points.

The match was stretched to tie-breaker after both the sides failed to score in the regulation time and the extra-time.

Amit, Raju and Gurcharan Singh scored for Delhi in tie-breaker while Chandigarh scored through Rajpal Singh, Harbajan Singh and Devinder Singh.

In another Tier II match, Imphal Rangers pipped Bengal Tigers 10-9 in sudden death.

A fast paced game marked the first quarter of the match between Chandigarh and Delhi with both the teams trying hard to take the lead.

Dynamos came close when Baljeet Singh got a pass inside the circle from Rajpal Singh, but his scoop went wide. Soon after Delhi had two hits at their rival post without any success.

Chandigarh got as many as five penalty corners in the third quarter but failed to take the lead due to some smart work by Delhi custodian Raghuvanshi.

In the last quarter, both the sides intensified their attack but failed to break the deadlock as the match went into extra-time.

Imphal Rangers and Bengal Tigers were locked 2-2 in the regulation time and the extra time yielded no results. In the tie-breaker both teams scored four goals each.

Laiba Singh and skipper Brojen Singh were the scores for the Rangers in the regulation time while Anil Ekka and Savaren Barla scored for the Bengal side.

In the penalty shoot out, Rangers scored through Benarjit Singh, Tomba Singh, Rinel Singh and Laiba Singh while Gopal Singh missed out.

Edmon Kerketta, Dabeander Ekka, Anil Ekka and Manoj Kujar beat the Imphhal custodian Herojit Singh while Arbind Kumar fumbled for the Bengal Tigers.

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.