Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > Sports > Formula One > Reuters > Report

Raikkonen takes San Marino pole

April 24, 2005 15:13 IST

McLaren's Kimi Raikkonen will start Sunday's San Marino Formula One Grand Prix in Imola from pole position.

While the Finn will start on the front row alongside Renault's championship leader Fernando Alonso, Ferrari's Michael Schumacher had a nightmare final qualifying and slumped to 14th place.

The seven times champion, third fastest in Saturday's qualifying, dismayed the home fans at the Enzo and Dino Ferrari circuit when he skidded wide at the Rivazza corner.

India's Narain Karthikeyan qualified on 17th place ahead of Jordan team mate Tiago Monteiro.

Brazilian team mate Rubens Barrichello was 10th.

BAR's Briton Jenson Button, on pole at Imola last year, shares the second row with Australian Mark Webber in a Williams with Italian Jarno Trulli on the third row for Toyota with BAR's Japanese Takuma Sato.

Qualifying Result from the Formula One Grand Prix of San Marino:

1. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) McLaren 2:42.880
2. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault 2:43.441
3. Jenson Button (Britain) BAR 2:44.105
4. Mark Webber (Australia) Williams 2:44.511
5. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 2:44.518
6. Takuma Sato (Japan) BAR 2:44.658
7. Alexander Wurz (Austria) McLaren 2:44.689
8. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Sauber 2:44.930
9. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) Williams 2:45.196
10. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Ferrari 2:45.243
11. Ralf Schumacher (Germany) Toyota 2:45.416
12. Jacques Villeneuve (Canada) Sauber 2:46.259
13. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Renault 2:46.710
14. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Ferrari 2:47.244
15. David Coulthard (Britain) Red Bull 2:48.070
16. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Red Bull 2:48.155
17. Narain Karthikeyan (India) Jordan 2:52.099
18. Tiago Monteiro (Portugal) Jordan 2:54.252
19. Patrick Friesacher (Austria) Minardi 2:57.048
20. Christijan Albers (Netherlands) Minardi 1:25.921

© Copyright 2005 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.
Formula One: The Complete Coverage

Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.